Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Instead of attending a meeting, I went out to do my laundry.  I liked having the clean socks and underwater again.  I did go to the office briefly to use the computer, and then I set out for the Grand Lake Theatre, a place I hadn’t been for a while.  A new movie there was “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children,” which was Tim Burton’s latest.  I thought it was quite a bad movie, lifeless and paced slowly with a whole lot of talking and things to not care about.  It felt like a low-grade superhero movie, with the kids like ridiculous X-Men.  It had one of those Burton trademarks, an outcast kid who is somehow visiting Wales with his father.  I barely listened to the dialogue about the time loops because the movie was so very uninteresting that nothing was worth the attention.  What happened to Tim Burton?  Helena Bonham Carter, Johnny Depp and Danny Elfman are absent, and the change indicates a bad direction, I think.  Judi Dench is in the movie, and her character’s fate is unexpected but not really funny.  Samuel L. Jackson brings his persona to this movie and a bit of humor, although it felt really hollow and desperate.  Allison Janney is a psychiatrist, although there is another surprise concerning her character that the audience won’t appreciate.  The battle at the end was predictable, but one of the few things to keep you awake.  The actor who played the main character, Jake, reminded me of Andrew McCarthy.  Ella Purnell, the blonde girl who was Jake’s love interest Emma seemed like the potential star in the cast.  The audience seemed unenthusiastic and perhaps bored with this movie.  I would rate it as Tim Burton’s worst movie.  I just didn’t see much in it that was worth watching.  It is the kind of uninspired effort that is a signal of the end of a career.  If it really cost $110 million to make, then it was a massive waste of money.  I didn’t stick around for the end of the credits.  I got on the 57 bus and ran around someone from work at the corner of 40th and San Pablo.  I took the 72R bus into El Cerrito to get over to Big 5.  I found a decent pair of Nikes for forty dollars.  As I tried to take the bus home, I was informed that it would take a detour because of a fire, which turned out to be a block away from my apartment building.  I shopped for groceries and watched the Partridge Family episode “Each Dawn I Diet.”  I saw Laurie just about to eat a piece of garlic bread.  How many times have we seen Tracy’s face messed up with chocolate or ice cream?  I went over to the record store to browse. I bought the Criterion Collection Blu-ray edition of “Traffic” for nine dollars.  Some of the people who died on October 1 include Jan Mabuse (1532), Walter Alston (1984), E.B. White (1985), and Richard Avedon (2004).  Today is a birthday for Julie Andrews (81) and Jimmy Carter (92).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 1, “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre” was released in 1974.  In 1977, Meco was Number One on the singles chart with “Star Wars Theme/Cantina Band.”  In 1982, Sony launched the CDP-101, the first commercially released compact disc player.  In 1993, “Malice,” starring Alec Baldwin, Nicole Kidman, Anne Bancroft, and George C. Scott, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

