Hardly Strictly Bluegrass 2016, Day 3

I woke up and turned on the television and was surprised to see a football game going on at that hour.  It was the Jaguars and the Colts in London.  My parents phoned me, and I went out to the coffee shop to have a mango smoothie.  I went out to the bus stop to take the F bus into San Francisco.  I got to Golden Gate Park for the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival at about eleven o’clock.  I checked the T-shirts, and I found that the good ones were nearly gone.  There were some bad designs, so some of those shirts weren’t selling.  Checking the schedule, it seemed that I missed the best day of the festival on Saturday, when Kris Kristofferson, Cyndi Lauper, and Jackson Browne performed.  The first set that I caught was The Hillbenders, and their set was a bluegrass rendition of The Who’s “Tommy.”  They had singers who did their approximations of Roger Daltrey and Keith Moon.  There was no real substitute for Pete Townshend’s guitar, which I came to appreciate more.  This band chose to skip “Sally Simpson.”  I didn’t care for the explanation of the story.  The songs could have spoken for themselves.  They ended their set with “I Can See for Miles.”  Some rain fell upon us as I looked for a place to buy some pizza.  I had a slice of pepperoni, then headed back to the Swan Stage for Buffy Sainte-Marie.  I was curious about this woman because I’ve seen her name for years, and her records are in the folk music section.  She brought more of a loud rock sound than I expected.  She reminded me of various other women, like Patti Smith, Grace Slick, Joan Baez, and Yoko Ono.  There weren’t too many young people catching her set, but I thought she may have won over some fans.  I walked a short distance to the Towers of Gold Stage for The John Doe Rock ‘n’ Roll Band.  I thought John Doe did a good job of singing, and he sang a song that he said was beautiful, Joni Mitchell’s “A Case of You.”  He told the audience that they should go out and vote because there can’t be that many angry white men out there.  He ended with “The New World,” with just a little bit of the Beatles’ “Revolution” at the end.  I looked around for a place where I could buy a gyros.  I moved over to the Rooster Stage for Jonathan Richman.  I was just resting at this point, as I was too far away to see Jonathan.  I listened to the end of the A’s game and the wrapup to the season.  They ended with only one more win than last year, and they couldn’t avoid losing 90 games.  They won their last two games of the year, but only three of their last thirteen.  I heard Richman sing Van Morrison’s “Crazy Love.”  It seemed that he ended his set early.  I went out to guy an orange cream popsicle, which was rather refreshing.  I went back to find a spot on the lawn and watch Rosanne Cash.  She started with the Beatles’ “Things We Said Today,” and she went into several songs from “The River and the Thread.”  She turned in perhaps the best set of the day.  I thought she was very impressive.  She sang Hank Snow’s “I’m Movin’ On,” and her last song was “Seven Year Ache.”  I went over to the Banjo Stage, where Wynonna & the Big Noise were winding down their show.  She sang songs from “Red Dirt Girl,” which seems like her most important album of the past twenty years.  She sang “Orphan Girl.”  Every year it gets dark during her set.  She mentioned how The Great Outdoors affects the tuning of musical instruments.  She sang Neil Young’s “After the Gold Rush.”  After an encore, the festival was over for another year.  It took me half an hour to walk to Geary and catch a bus.  It was past 8:30 when I got to the Montgomery BART station and headed home.  I just missed the Columbo episode with the TV chef and his twin brother, an episode called “Double Shock.”  Some of the people who died on October 3 include Carl Nielsen (1931), Woody Guthrie (1967), Roddy McDoawll (1998), Benjamin Orr (2000), William Stieg (2003), and Janet Leigh (2004).  Today is a birthday for Clive Owen (52) and Chubby Checker (75).

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

