Jodaeiye Nader az Simin

I was trying to listen to some hits from 1974 when one of the other teachers interrupted me and asked me if I remembered her.  I tried to get through the conversation avoiding the uncomfortable but wasn’t entirely successful.  I went to work and followed the baseball score.  By the time I got to Bongo Burger, I saw Madison Bumgarner get the last three outs.  I finished my burger and headed home to watch “A Separation,” the film that showed some of the life in Iran that wasn’t on the screen in “Ten.”  Nader has a father with Alzheimer’s disease, and his marriage to Simin is in trouble.  After Nader hires a woman to look after his father, a conflict results that involves legal trouble and lives possibly being ruined forever.  It’s one of those situations that escalates into widespread grief and potential danger and even violence.  I thought the movie had a compelling quality that made me lose track of time.  I didn’t stare at the clock as I do during so many movies.  There was a little bit of “Rashomon” to the legal proceedings, at least in the sense of the truth getting concealed for various reasons.  Everyone is afraid of telling the entire truth because of possible punishment, either from the court or for religious reasons.  Everyone gets a bit dirty before the story comes to an end.  The actor who played Nader was very good.  I had quite a bit of sympathy for him in his plight.  I did agree with Simin in one of the things she said, that they should get out of that hellhole in Iran.  Nader was getting close to being thrown into jail for murder for a seemingly harmless argument.  The maid’s husband was this threatening, angry person who was pretty scary, but somewhat less frightening than Robert De Niro in “Cape Fear.”  I thought that this was a strong movie, and I was glad that I spent the time to see it.  I would say that it was one of the best foreign films of the past 16 years.  The actors were good, and the whole movie was made with a strong sense of purpose.  It made most of the other movies I’ve seen with recent years seem like garbage.  I had sympathy for Nader’s position because it makes me think about my own aging parents.  A couple of things that happened at the end made it seem that the story came to a conclusion that was a bit too tidy.  It’s hard to find too much fault in a film that has so much going for it, though.  After it was over, I took a look at what was on the movie channels.  Movies like “Mothra” and “Billy Jack Goes to Washington” were on television, and they certainly weren’t too meaningful to me.  I looked over the movie listings for the weekend and couldn’t get excited about anything.  Are movies like “Don’t Breathe” and “Sully” worth seeing at all?  The one good thing about the Giants’ win over the Mets is that they will probably make the series with the Cubs more interesting.  I couldn’t imagine this year’s Mets team giving this year’s Cubs a real contest.  I did not think that the Orioles were going to win.  They just seemed too flawed.  I wanted the work week to end quickly because I was tired.  Some of the people who died on October 6 include Nelson Riddle (1985), Bette Davis (1989), Denholm Elliott (1992), Ted Bessell (1996), and Richard Farnsworth (2000).  Today is a birthday for Elisabeth Shue (53).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

