Sully

I went to work and became tired.  I didn’t want to work the extra hour.  I looked at the baseball scores and saw that the Blue Jays, Indians, and Dodgers were winners.  I walked over to the theatre to see “Sully.”  I was the only one in the theatre up until the opening credits started, and then two other people walked in.  It was a big, commercial movie with a famous star in the main role, and it didn’t have the cynicism I see in a lot of movies.  I thought it was a good movie, maybe not a masterpiece, but still something a lot of moviegoers would want to see.  Tom Hanks is Sully.  He’s someone that we can accept as the hero type, although I wondered about what he actually knew about piloting an airplane.  The movie says things about accepting people and what they are made of instead of technology.  The drama involving the investigators seemed like it was given the Hollywood treatment.  The CGI showing the plane was irritating in the way that almost all CGI is.  I wouldn’t say that Clint Eastwood is a subtle filmmaker.  He directed a film about a plane, called “Firefox,” back in the 1980s.  I think what we really wanted from this movie was the sense of what it was like inside the plane, and what happened during the rescue.  We do get that, too.  I think I would have been terrified at having to listen to the flight attendants repeating over and over to everyone about embracing yourselves and keeping your head down.  In these emergency situations, I suppose a few people have to act stupidly.  Jumping into that icy water had to be a bad decision.  How long could you last?  I was reminded of Kate Winslet in “Titanic.”  Aaron Eckhart is a steady presence, and I always forgot who he was.  I would say that the dialogue he was given was not brilliant.  I don’t think I quite believed that Laura Linney was Sully’s wife.  Katie Couric and David Letterman have roles as themselves, although I’m not sure they were convincing as themselves to the rest of us.  Eastwood seems to be suggesting to us that our heroes always get torn down by stupidity, and there are always those who don’t appreciate good deeds and people of high character.  Children grow up with superheroes and not real ones saving real lives.  This is a movie that families can watch together, although there are a few bad words in it.  It’s not about wacky characters, abnormal behavior, racism, or any number of problems of the modern world.  I think, though, that it will make you feel pretty good if you watch it.  I left the theatre and had to take a bus to use my ATM.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “A Penny for His Thoughts” with Stuart Margolin as Snake.  I took note that the family didn’t have any beer in their refrigerator.  It also seemed that San Pueblo was close to San Francisco, considering Snake’s comment about the bay.  Some of the people who died on October 8 include Henry Fielding (1754), John Hancock (1793), Franklin Pierce (1869), Nigel Bruce (1953), Joan Hackett (1983), and Al Davis (2011).  Today is a birthday for Sigourney Weaver (67), Chevy Chase (73), R.L. Stine (73), Jesse Jackson (75), and Paul Hogan (77).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

