Mustang

I went to work and watched the sky get dark and the afternoon grow cold.  Back at home, I watched the DVD of “Mustang.”  It was set in Turkey, and the focus was five sisters.  They play a game with boys on their way home from school, which causes a scandal.  The result is that they’re forbidden to leave home, as the house is turned into a prison.  Marriages are arranged for the older girls.  It made me think back on “The Makioka Sisters,” except that the situation was frightening and depressing.  The grandmother says that she didn’t know her husband before she married him, which was an alarming statement because you have to wonder why things haven’t changed in two generations.  One break from the bleakness is the sequence where the girls decide to go to a soccer game, although it seemed improbable that they should be visible on television during the broadcast.  Nobody ever sees me on television when the A’s games are shown.  It’s hard to keep people confined into a small area.  They’ll way a way out, like the prisoners in “The Great Escape.”  The elders impose their notions of morality when their actions reveal that they’re not superior to youth.  That idea made me think back on “The Graduate.”  I would say that the girls could have gone down the path towards the frivolous and stupid in their lives, although that is part of youth.  Restricting the girls to learning about housework and cooking doesn’t do anything for them in the modern world.  The movie doesn’t show how five brothers would be treated.  The movie captures well the feeling of family between the five girls.  The cast was very strong.  The last part of the movie has a lot of suspense, with a situation of preventing anyone from entering the house, although it wasn’t quite like either “The Birds” or “The Desperate Hours.”  Decades ago, I wouldn’t have thought of a place like Istanbul to be some kind of safe haven, especially after I saw “Midnight Express.”  I thought that people would have caught up to the two girls in the end.  The ending doesn’t feel like an ending.  I don’t think I really wanted to see another movie about teenage girls, but this one drew me in.  It was certainly better than the commercial films aimed at young people that I’ve seen in the theatres recently.  It’s worth watching.  I saw that it was compared to Sofia Coppola, which I’m not too sure is a good thing.  I will say that there should have been more going on in the uncle’s mind than was shown.  If I were to face Deniz Gamze Ergüven, the director of the film, I would have questions about her view of men.  I fell asleep, but then turned the television on to The Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour with Tony Curtis and Dinah Shore.  Simon and Garfunkel and Janet Leigh were on The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour.  I found my A’s season ticket bill in the day’s mail.  It felt like bad timing on the eve of the World Series.  I didn’t want to be reminded of 93 losses.  I waited for the night’s episode of Supergirl.  I thought that the idea of casting Lynda Carter was pretty amusing.  Her voice has certainly changed since 1976.  He played the president and was almost killed twice within a short period of time, rather like Gerald Ford.  Some of the people who died on October 25 include Bill Graham (1991), Roger Miller (1992), Vincent Price (1993), Forrest Tucker (1996), Richard Harris (2002), John Peel (2004), Bill Sharman (2013), and Marcia Wallace (2013).  Today is a birthday for Nancy Cartwright (59) Helen Reddy (75), and Marion Ross (88).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 25, “The Amazing Colossal Man” was released in 1957.  Also in 1957, “Pal Joey,” with Frank Sinatra, Kim Novak, and Rita Hayworth, was released.  In 1964, the Rolling Stones made their first appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show, performing “Time Is On My Side” and “Around and Around.”  In 1967, “Camelot” was released.  In 1978, John Carpenter’s “Halloween” with Jamie Lee Curtis was released.  In 1986, the Top 3 singles on the Billboard chart were Cyndi Lauper’s “True Colors,” Tina Turner’s “Typical Male,” and Janet Jackson’s “When I Think of You.”  In 2002, Richard Harris died in London at age 72.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

