Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

I woke up after six o’clock and watched CBS This Morning and the chef segment.  Tariq Hanna’s signature recipes include Crispy chicken confit, Lemon caper sauce, Beet salad, Roasted butternut squash with bread and butter dressing, Mushrooms Mac N’ Cheese, Vanilla Eclairs, and Sazarand.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on October 28, 1972 were “Good Time Charlie’s Got the Blues,” “Everybody Plays the Fool,” “Ben,” “Garden Party,” “Freddie’s Dead,” “I Can See Clearly Now,” “Use Me,” “Nights in White Satin,” “Burning Love,” and “My Ding-a-Ling.”  I went out to Trader Joe’s to buy groceries before the World Series game came on television.  I saw that Rajai Davis couldn’t catch a ball hit to left field, leading to the Cubs’ first run.  He would be hit by a pitch and score a run later.  Coco Crisp hit a double and scored a run.  I was surprised that the Indians were able to win the first two games in Chicago.  Vince Vaughn showed up for the seventh inning stretch.  I watched “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.”  I found the parts of the movie without the zombies to be rather boring.  I would expect people like Keira Knightley, Emma Thompson, or Colin Firth to be in a movie adapted from a Jane Austen novel, and this movie would have been more interesting with actors like them.  The thought of young women arming themselves with blades and shooting guns was rather funny, but not for the entire movie.  I hated the photography with that faded look.  The movie was rated PG-13 and thus couldn’t be too explicit.  I didn’t think that either Elizabeth or Mr. Darcy was all that interesting.  I’m not sure what George Romero would have brought to this movie if he had directed it.  Some of the scenes made me think of “Zulu.”  I saw this movie because Halloween was coming, and I wanted to know if it was worth seeing in future years.  I feel like sticking with “Psycho” and “The Nightmare Before Christmas.”  I might have liked the movie a little better if Natalie Portman was in it.  The movie was unsuccessful at the box office.  I guess it managed to drive away both Jane Austen fans and zombie fans.  I would say that “Shaun of the Dead” was a good movie, but “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” was not a good movie.  “Dark Shadows” was on the Decades Channel all weekend.  I felt too tired to watch another movie or any television.  I wanted to watch Game 5 of the World Series, although I couldn’t understand how the Cleveland players could tolerate the offensive logo on their caps.  Some athletes have taken a stand on Black Lives Matter, and so it seems that they could take a stand on this, too.  Some of the people who died on October 30 include Samuel Fuller (1997), Steve Allen (2000), Jam Master Jay (2002), Robert Goulet (2007), and Al Molinaro (2015).  Today is a birthday for Henry Winkler (71) and Grace Slick (77).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for October 30, Aaron Copland’s “Appalachian Spring” had its premiere in Washington DC in 1944.  In 1974, Kathy Silva filed for divorce from Sly Stone.  In 1982, the Number One single was Men at Work’s “Who Can It Be Now?”  In 2007, Robert Goulet died while waiting for a lung transplant at age 73.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

