Aquarius

I woke up and watched CBS Sunday Morning.  I’m thinking that I’m not enjoying the show as much with Jane Pauley as the host.  I saw that it was raining outside, so I sat around watching the Raiders game against the Buccaneers.  It certainly was an ugly game with those missed field goals and penalties.  The rain eased up, so I went out to the theatre to see “Aquarius.”  It was not something I was dying to see.  It looked like the best option because of the schedule.  I wanted to return home in time to see the World Series game.  It wasn’t a brilliant film, but I liked seeing Sonia Braga once again.  I actually can’t recall seeing her in anything since “Kiss of the Spider Woman.”  She is a 65-year-old widow named Clara, and she is the last person living in an apartment building, as a company has some plans for the land.  Clara likes her record albums and listening to Queen and Villa-Lobos.  She doesn’t think much of the digital world of texting and Facebook.  People put pressure on her to sell and move out.  One of her daughters reminded me of Melanie Griffith.  Parts of the movie reminded me of “Hello, My Name is Doris,” although this one is not a comedy.  It’s set in Brazil, and it’s kind of interesting to see this after this year’s Summer Olympics.  I sympathized with Clara.  She’s not that much older than I am, and I could see her problems possibly becoming mine sometime in the future.  I wonder how my landlord feels about me as I’ve been here for years, and he could charge a higher rent if I leave.  Sonia Braga’s performance made me appreciate her more.  I can’t even remember exactly what she did in “Kiss of the Spider Woman.”  I thought she aged pretty well.  I was surprised at the nudity and sex in the film.  I don’t know if Clara should have been so insistent on staying.  She had to think that the company was going to try all sorts of tactics to get her to move.  I thought about that old woman who died earlier this year after her landlord served notice for her to leave.  I also had to think of “Umberto D.”  This movie isn’t on the same level as that classic by Vittorio De Sica, and I think it drags a bit, but I was pretty glad that I went to see it on a Sunday afternoon instead of watching another football game.  The ending didn’t seem like a real ending.  The insects were eating away at more than just the wood in an old building.  I went home and listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program, which featured songs by Sam Cooke, Neil Young, Paul McCartney, and John Lennon.  The Indians went with a weaker starting pitcher, but they kept the score close.  They couldn’t get that tying run after Aroldis Chapman came into the game.  I saw that Bill Murray and John Cusack were spectators in the stands.  That was the last game at Wrigley Field this season, and the Indians still have two chances to win one more game in Cleveland.  I saw that the Cowboys beat the Eagles in overtime.  The Columbo episode on Me TV featured Jose Ferrer, and it was called “Mind Over Mayhem.”  This wasn’t one of my favorite episodes because Columbo forced a confession from the suspect rather than solve the case by true ingenuity.  One of the movie channels had “Mothra” on, but I was getting too sleepy to watch it until the end.  Marilyn Monroe’s “Let’s Make Love” was about to start.  Some of the people who died on October 31 include Marcel Carné (1926), Harry Houdini (1926), John Houseman (1988), Federico Fellini (1993), River Phoenix (1993), Ring Lardner, Jr. (2000), and Studs Terkel (2008).  Today is a birthday for Peter Jackson (55) and Michael Collins (85).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

