Damsels in Distress

I gave a test to my class and wrapped up the week.  I took the bus and stopped to buy a beef burrito before I went home.  I watched the DVD of “Damsels in Distress,” the comedy featuring Greta Gerwig and Analeigh Tipton.  I thought there was an intersection between this movie and “Frances Ha,” with the college setting and the dancing.  The movie poster this time was Jean Renoir’s “Grand Illusion.”  It made me remember the poster for “Barry Lyndon” that was in “Aquarius.”  What made me laugh was the college student who didn’t know about colors.  It was really beyond belief, even though some college students are incredibly dumb.  I laughed at times.  Weren’t there similarities between this movie and “Mistress America,” also?  I liked the dancing to “Things Are Looking Up,” which made me think about “Everyone Says I Love You.”  Some of the people who died on November 4 include Gabriel Fauré (1924), Cy Young (1955), Jacques Tati (1982), Sheree North (2005), Michael Crichton (2008), Sparky Anderson (2010), and Andy Rooney (2011).  Today is a birthday for Matthew McConaughey (47), Ralph Macchio (55), Kathy Griffin (56), Markie Post (66), and Loretta Swit (79).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

