Moonlight

I went out to the coffee shop before going to work.  I was looking forward to my day off on the 11th.  After I was done, I headed to the theatre to see “Moonlight.”  I had seen the movie getting very good reviews, and so I felt that I had to go see for myself what it was about.  It follows a character named Chiron at different points in his life.  He’s someone who is quiet and suppresses emotion, having qualities that we usually don’t see in a main character of a movie.  His circumstances should have destroyed his spirit, but he just endures.  This is all going to lead to some kind of emotional explosion along the lines of “Taxi Driver” or “Shoot the Moon.”  One disturbing thing is that this story feels like it could have taken place at any time in the past five decades and in many cities besides Miami.  I couldn’t see how Chiron could have been a good student in his science class with all the bullying he had to suffer and his troubled mother.  There is also the issue of his sexual orientation, which is a problem for him in this atmosphere.  After the dramatic scene happens, it doesn’t seem fair to Chiron, whose life was unbearable, but legally he was in the wrong.  There is an aftermath in which years later he drives down from Atlanta to visit someone who befriended him but also betrayed him.  The past is too painful to really talk about, although he’s still not inclined to talk at length about anything.  The scenes are quiet but contain a lot of emotion.  I liked the approach of this movie.  There was a meaningful use of Barbara Lewis’ “Hello Stranger” on the soundtrack.  I thought about those movies about desperate young children in Brazil struggling with their lives.  I thought that “Moonlight” was one of the most important films of the year, and certainly one that people should see.  It made most of the big commercial films I’ve seen recently seem trivial and stupid.  I went out to take a bus and stop at an ATM along the way to the Barnes and Noble store in Emeryville.  I was there for the sale on Criterion Collection Blu-ray discs.  I decided to buy a copy of “Sullivan’s Travels,” along with the special edition of Rolling Stone magazine about Guns N’ Roses.  I bought a sandwich from Bongo Burger before returning home.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “Swiss Family Partridge.”  I thought it was funny when Laurie volunteered to give up her food so that Chris and Tracy could eat.  I also saw the NUMB3RS episode “Scratch,” about a plot involving lottery tickets.  What happened to Amita for this episode?  There was another woman who essentially played her role for this story.  I also missed Larry.  Some of the people who died on November 5 include George M. Cohan (1942), Art Tatum (1956), Mack Sennett (1960), Vladimir Horowitz (1989), Fred MacMurray (1991), Bobby Hatfield (2003), and Jill Clayburgh (2012).  Today is a birthday for Tilda Swinton (56), Robert Patrick (58), and Art Garfunkel (75).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

