Doctor Strange

I awoke and watched television.  Anthony Bourdain appeared on the CBS This Morning program.  Matt Singer talked about the movies coming this holiday season and praised a new musical with Emma Stone.  He also had to mention “Rogue One.”  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on November 3, 1972 were “All I Know,” “Space Race,” “Let’s Get It On,” “Ramblin’ Man,” “Heartbeat – It’s a Lovebeat,” “Paper Roses,” “Half-Breed,” “Keep On Truckin’,” “Angie,” and “Midnight Train to Georgia.” I did my laundry and looked through the CVS store.  Their Halloween merchandise was marked down 75 percent.  I went to the farmers’ market across the street from the Grand Lake Theatre and bought a burrito before going over to see “Doctor Strange.”  If this man was so brilliant, then why was he dumb enough to drive while distracted?  Benedict Cumberbatch was just about right for this role.  I don’t see him as someone who would listen to Earth, Wind and Fire while doing surgery.  I have the feeling he may take his acting too seriously, but he goes through this movie with humor.  Tilda Swinton opened my eyes with her acting talent, although her character reminded me of one of the masters in the Kung Fu television series to Strange’s Caine.  Rachel McAdams is the woman who works beside Doctor Strange.  It seemed that she was doing something similar to her work in “Spotlight.”  I felt that the audience was laughing too hard at this movie during its light moments.  They did the same thing during “Deadpool.”  Chiwetel Ejiofor is a very reliable actor.  He is like what Gene Hackman was years ago.  Some of the weird things that go on reminded me of “Inception.”  I did like the movie for being a bit different than the usual superhero story.  I noticed Stan Lee in his cameo as a bus passenger.  I think I have seen far too many movies based on Marvel comic books since that first Tobey Maguire Spider-Man feature.  “Doctor Strange” was at least something different.  It did have a good number of very good actors, with Cumberbatch, Ejiofor, and Swinton.  There were two short teaser scenes during the end credits.  I would rather see another Doctor Strange movie than another Captain America movie.  The kids in the theatre on this afternoon enjoyed themselves.  The credits did have a warning about distracted driving at the end, although you would have to be stupid to need such a warning.  It was two hours later that the movie ended, so it wasn’t an epic that went on forever, which was a good thing for me.  Those long movies like “Interstellar” and “The Hateful Eight” were really exhausting.  I took the buses back home.  It was sad for me to think about the end of the year.  Some of the people who died on November 6 include Peter Ilylich Tchaikovsky (1893), Gene Tierney (1991), Mario Savio (1996), and Anthony Shaffer (2001).  Today is a birthday for Emma Stone (28), Ethan Hawke (47), Maria Shriver (61), and Sally Field (70).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

