The Love Witch

I spent the early hours doing my laundry.  I really didn’t want to follow the news about Trump.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “Ain’t Loveth Grand.”  I wasn’t sure how old Laurie was supposed to be in this episode.  I thought she was 15 or 16.  I didn’t see her eating the lambchops at dinner.  After doing a bit of grocery shopping, I went out to see “The Love Witch.”  It sure was an unusual movie with its bright color photography and the acting that was a bit off, even if we’re not supposed to take things seriously.  It reminded me of those low-budget movies from the 1960s that I would catch on television years ago.  Places like San Francisco, Eureka, and Berkeley were mentioned, so there is a setting.  One of the houses looked like we had seen it before in “Vertigo.”  Samantha Robinson plays Elaine, the main character.  I thought it was odd that she would go into a shop and drop off witch bottles like a traveling saleswoman.  The men are certainly strange in this picture.  I didn’t notice anything about their personalities outside a sex drive.  At times, I felt that I was watching “Beyond the Valley of the Dolls.”  I didn’t want to watch Elaine for an entire movie.  I would say that “The Love Witch” and “The Handmaiden” were the most unusual films I’ve seen this past month.  There were some moments when the audience laughed, but I think they really wanted more.  I didn’t recognize any of the actors in the movie.  I would say that after it was over, I felt like seeing “Bell, Book, and Candle” again.  I wanted to like “The Love Witch,” but I can’t recommend it.  Samantha Robinson reminded me of Annette O’Toole.  I thought she would have been more likable and just displayed her body proudly as is she were in a Russ Meyer movie.  The script could have used a rewrite.  I felt tired watching this movie and felt that it ran a bit long.  I went out to Emeryville to browse at Barnes and Noble and buy a Criterion Collection Blu-ray disc that was on sale.  It was Truffaut’s “The Soft Skin.”  I went over to Target to stock up on items like toothpaste and Softsoap, but I also bought a View-Master and a Spirograph set, along with a Star Wars beanie.  I took the bus back.  At the record store, I bought a Discwasher set for my records, and a CD copy of Paul Simon’s “Stranger to Stranger.”  I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Arm in Arms.”  Larry was mentioned, but he didn’t make an appearance.  I wanted to think back on Leonard Cohen.  I should have gone to see him at the Paramount Theatre when I had the chance.  I brought out one of his compilation albums and listened to some of his songs: “Suzanne,” “Sisters of Mercy,” “Hey That’s No Way to Say Goodbye,” “Bird on a Wire,” “Famous Blue Raincoat,” “Chelsea Hotel #2,” “Hallelujah,” “Everybody Knows,” “Dance Me to the End of Love,” and “Anthem.”  I heard about the death of Robert Vaughn.  I had seen “The Magnificent Seven” again recently and felt rather sad at the news.  I went through some of my DVDs for something to watch during the late hours, but I got too tired.  I’m not too sure that I really wanted to watch episodes of Breaking Bad.  Some of the people who died on November 12 include William Holden (1981), Eve Arden (1990), Ira Levin (2007), and Mitch Mitchell (2008).  Today is a birthday for Anne Hathaway (34), Ryan Gosling (36), Nadia Comaneci (55), Neil Young (71), and Wallace Shawn (73).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

