Jules et Jim

I watched CBS This Morning, and the guest chef was Jimmy Bannos.  His signature recipes included Fried-Shrimp Po-boy, Cajun coleslaw, Orzolaya, Red beans and rice, Corn bread (Jalapeño cheddar corn blasters), Key lime icebox pie, and Hurricane.  The musical guest was Norah Jones.  Bringing out my old DVDs, I watched some Schoolhouse Rock and the Goober and the Ghost Chasers episode “Assignment: Ahaab Apparition.”  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on November 13, 1971 were “Superstar,” “Inner City Blues,” “Have You Seen Her,” “Peace Train,” “Yo-Yo,” “I’ve Found Someone of My Own,” “Maggie May,” “Imagine,” “Theme from ‘Shaft,’” and “Gypsys, Tramps and Thieves.”  I read a little bit about the death of Robert Vaughn.  I took the bus over to the Grand Lake Theatre.  I bought some dim sum at the farmers’ market across the street and ate before I went to the movie, which was “Doctor Strange.”  I would say that I appreciated Tilda Swinton’s performance a bit more with this second viewing.  I saw Christmas decorations on the streets for the first time, although not downtown.  I took the bus back home and watched “Jules and Jim,” the great movie by Francois Truffaut.  It was the first time I had seen the movie on Blu-ray, and it did make me notice some details like the painting on the wall and the hourglass.  One moment when I laughed was when I saw an insect on the window that looked like it was going into Jeanne Moreau’s mouth.  There were interesting bits, like the litter outside the house with the box of English cigarettes, and skipping stones.  Also, there was the fog that was thick outside so that you couldn’t see the house.  I always thought about Catherine’s role as a mother and what Sabine was thinking during all the events.  She is not there at the end.  I noticed the presence of cigarettes and dominos.  Oskar Werner was pretty good in this film, so I wondered what happened between him and Truffaut between “Jules and Jim” and “Fahrenheit 451.”  I’m always impressed with the images of the trees whenever I see this film.  When Catherine races Jules and Jim across the bridge, I couldn’t see how she could stay ahead of the others because it looked like she was quite slow.  Only a person who was not very observant could have confused her with a man.  I didn’t think so much about the tie with the bridge at the end, and that was because Catherine had jumped off a bridge earlier.  I always wondered what happened to the car that was used at the end.  It seems like a shame to trash a vehicle for the sake of one shot in a movie.  I thought about those freeze frames and how you could put them in a film today with the use of digital technology.  Catherine is described as not too beautiful and not too intelligent at one point, which made me question what her power of her personality was supposed to be in this story.  The ending made me think of two classic movies.  Jules is left in shock in those last moments, rather like Scotty in “Vertigo.”  In the final shot, Jules walks away from the camera, something like a Charlie Chaplin film like “Modern Times,” although with a twist.  One of my favorite shots showed everyone on bicycles going down a hill.  The opening music isn’t what we would expect for such a movie as this, and the movie gives us all sorts of unexpected things.  I liked the energy of the first section where Jules and Jim are getting to know each other.  Jules and Jim do a lot of writing, but they have all sorts of time for other things.  I kept thinking about how they could have the money to do things.  It seemed irrational that they should be afraid of killing each other during the war.  The chance of that happening would be miniscule, and it would only happen in a book.  I thought about what the timeline of events would be.  World War I happens during the course of events, and towards the end, they are all in a theatre watching a movie that has sound.  It shows the burning of books, which we would see in “Fahrenheit 451,” of course.  Watching “Jules and Jim” after watching “The 400 Blows” is like listening to two Beatles albums and noticing the progression of ideas.  “The 400 Blows” is youth, and “Jules and Jim” is adulthood.  I look at “Jules and Jim” a little bit differently each time I see it, as I notice different things.  There is so much in it.  It’s one of the great movies that I have seen.  I watched the end of the Star Trek episode with Diana Muldaur on Me TV.  I also watched episodes of All in the Family, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, and M*A*S*H before I went to sleep.  I was watching CBS Sunday Morning when Jane Pauley announced that Leon Russell had died.  It was shortly after a segment on Elton John talking about his photograph collection, too.  I will remember Leon Russell for his concerts with Joe Cocker and with George Harrison.  Some of the people who died on November 13 include Gioacchino Rossini (1868), Camille Pissaro (1903), Vittorio De Sica (1974), Karen Silkwood (1974), Todd Christensen (2013), and Alvin Dark (2014).  Today is a birthday for Jimmy Kimmel (49), Whoopi Goldberg (61), Chris North (62), Frances Conroy (63), and Joe Mantegna (69).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

