Wings of Life

I tried to get some work done, but I felt exhausted.  I took a bit of time off to watch the Blu-ray disc of a nature documentary called “Wings of Life,” which was about flowers and which had Meryl Streep as the narrator.  I don’t know how they got some of this footage, and I had to wonder if CGI was used.  I thought it was interesting to see bees dealing with waxy flowers.  I kept shuddering at the sight of beekeepers handling the hives with bare hands.  Even though I’ve documentaries showing caterpillars before, this film was still impressive in what it showed.  Survival out there in nature is a remarkable thing, and I’m glad that humans don’t have to face those same elements.  I’d hate to think what would have happened if I started off as an egg on a leaf.  A film showing a lot of flowers is going to be beautiful, and I was glad to see it in high definition.  The movie does deal with the decline in the bee population and makes a case for planting flowers where we can.  It wouldn’t be surprising to learn about pesticides killing scores of bees.  I didn’t think it was the best idea to have Meryl Streep playing the part of a flower.  I would have doubts that even the kids out there would find it amusing.  I liked “Wings of Life” a bit more than the typical documentary I saw on PBS, and I was glad that I sat down to watch it.  I thought back to the days of “The Living Desert” and “The Vanishing Prairie” and how those old films meant a lot to me.  I was glad to take a break from Donald Trump news to see a movie about things that will be around for a long time.  With all the media attention about Trump these several months, how many people know the basic facts about him, like how much education he’s had?  I was glad to hear Meryl Streep’s voice in this movie.  It was rather comforting.  The director was Louis Schwartzberg, who is known for time-lapse photography.  He was born in 1950.  When I think of all those movies in the theatres out now that are badly photographed, I appreciate how “Wings of Life” looks.  I think that I would like to make a documentary, too.  It seems to be the thing that everything does these days, so why not me?  The rest of my work day was hectic and exhausting.  I borrowed a box set of David Bowie CDs.  I already had copies of the albums from years ago, so I wasn’t sure what made these discs worth listening to.  However, I haven’t found much new music to excite me, and so I decided to take that set home.  I went to Bongo Burger afterwards.  I heard on the news that a fall led to Leonard Cohen’s death.  I also heard Hillary Clinton saying that the election made her feel like curling up with a good book and never leaving the house.  I can understand that, because I hardly feel anxious to get out of bed and face my work.  Her supporters do have a map of areas they should target.  The weather forecast for the weekend was terrible, and the idea of going out to Saturday’s football game in the rain was extremely unappealing.  The 1980s movie “Tampopo” is coming to town again, and I’d like it see it again.  We could use a little sense of humor in this country right about now.  I thought about what I should do for Thanksgiving.  Last year I went out to see “The Good Dinosaur,” and then I stood outside Best Buy for two hours before buying a pile of videos and a hard drive.  I have the feeling that after months of thinking horrible thoughts about the horrible election, people are going to spend a lot of money during this holiday season.  Some of the people who died on November 17 include Auguste Rodin (1917), Heitor Villa-Lobos (1959), Esther Rolle (1998), Don Gibson (2003), and Jimmy Ruffin (2014).  Today is a birthday for Rachel McAdams (38), Danny DeVito (72), and Martin Scorsese (74).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for November 17, the Four Seasons’ “Big Girls Don’t Cry” was the Number One single in 1962.  In 1972, “The Mechanic,” starring Charles Bronson, was released.  In 1989, “The Little Mermaid” was released.  In 1995, Pierce Brosnan’s first James Bond film, “GoldenEye,” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

