Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising

I didn’t feel much like going to work.  I talked for a while about “Tampopo,” but I really just wanted to leave there quickly so that I could take a nap.  I went out grocery shopping.  I watched the Raiders game in Mexico City.  I thought perhaps that I had been seeing too many intelligent films as of late, so I went ahead and watched the DVD of “Neighbors 2.”  I thought the chemistry between Seth Rogen and Rose Byrne was pretty good.  Rose was quite funny and made me think that she could carry a movie all by herself.  Chloë Grace Moretz was Shelby, the college student who was starting a sorority right next to Mac and Kelly, threatening the sale of their house.  The plot was funny in the beginning, but I thought there was too much of a message by the end.  I noticed that the college students never seemed to study, and the grownups didn’t seem to do much work.  Zac Efron worms his way into the story.  James Franco’s brother is around, as well as McLovin from “Superbad.”  Shelby was amusing when she was smoking weed.  I thought the strategy of the bedbugs was risky.  I can’t say this was a good movie, but it did make me laugh more than something like “Keanu” or any number of movies that other people thought were funny.  There was a bit of Hillary Clinton humor that feels a bit sad now that the election is over.  I thought the weakest jokes were about the minions.  I can say that the ending had some sense to it, although it would take a lot of money.  I hope they don’t make a second sequel, because I think they would run low on ideas.  I would go as far as saying that Rose Byrne could be in her own television series, perhaps called Rose.  She could do what Lucille Ball would be doing now is she were still alive.  I wonder how much longer Seth Rogen can go with these movies.  If they were to make “Neighbors 3,” I might decide to stay away completely.  I’m thinking back to the way the Police Academy movies got worse.  Chloë Grace Moretz has already been in “Kick-Ass” and “Hugo,” and she is not even twenty years old yet.  Dave Franco is already 31 years old.  I watched the Supergirl episode and wondered why no one could recognized Jimmy Olsen behind his helmet from the way his eyes looked.  I was annoyed with the robot at the Fortress of Solitude.  If it was a good robot, it wouldn’t have been so readily deceived.  “The Two Jakes” was one of the movies on television last night.  I wondered what the movie would have been like with Roman Polanski directing.  I was struck by how much younger Jack Nicholson and Meg Tilly looked twenty-six years ago.  Harvey Keitel, Eli Wallach, and James Hong were also in the cast.  Was I wrong about Kanye West?  I would still say that buying a ticket for one of his shows is a great risk.  They were showing Sonny and Cher episodes on Get TV, and their guests were people like Jimmy Durante, Andy Griffith, Mike Connors, and Jean Stapleton.  Some of the people who died on November 22 include Arthur Sullivan (1900), Jack London (1916), Lorenz Hart (1943), Shemp Howard (1955), Aldous Huxley (1963), John F. Kennedy (1963), C.S. Lewis (1963), Mae West (1980), and Sterling Holloway (1992).  Today is a birthday for Scarlett Johansson (32), Mark Ruffalo (49), Mariel Hemingway (55), Jamie Lee Curtis (58), Steve Van Zandt (66), Tina Weymouth (66), and Billie Jean King (73).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

