Rules Don’t Apply

I went out to do my work and returned home to have chicken pot pie for a late lunch, and then I took a nap.  I took the bus over to the theatre to catch the 4:05 showing of “Rules Don’t Apply.”  Warren Beatty showed that he still has some life left in him, even if it’s not the brilliance of decades past.  This film brings to mind some of Beatty’s previous films, namely “Heaven Can Wait,” “Reds,” and “Bugsy.”  In some scene, Howard Hughes, like Farnsworth in “Heaven Can Wait,” steps into a closet.  Paul Sorvino is the only person besides Beatty who was in “Reds” also in this film, at least as I can recall.  There is a cast of stars, though, with the likes of Annette Bening, Martin Sheen, Alec Baldwin, Ed Harris, Matthew Broderick, Amy Madigan, Steve Coogan, and Candice Bergen making appearances.  After seeing Candice Bergen as Murphy Brown, it feels strange to see her as a secretary.  Much of the story isn’t about Hughes, but a young actress named Marla Mabrey, who is under contract to him, and her driver, Frank Forbes.  A lot of humor is about Hughes’ eccentricities.  All sorts of people deal with him without ever seeing him, and he likes his Baskin-Robbins banana nut ice cream.  It made me wonder if you can keep ice cream in the freezer long enough to eat 350 gallons of it.  He always has “Wings” constantly projected wherever he goes.  During the scenes with the actresses, I thought of “Hail, Caesar!”  There is supposed to be an intersection of one of the characters with Bobby Darin, but we don’t see it.  The one famous character we see is Howard Hughes.  It is 1958, but it’s not mentioned who the President of the United States is.  The part that I think is like “Reds” is the couple getting caught up in events, with the woman getting disillusioned while the man hangs on.  The movie feels like it’s moving too slowly at times, especially in the first half.  I wondered where Beatty got this good footage of Hollywood in 1964.  It feels like this movie isn’t necessary, since we’ve already seen “The Aviator.”  I think the last Beatty film I saw was “Bulworth.”  I can’t see too many young people wanting to go out to see “Rules Don’t Apply,” but it’s something that you might enjoy on DVD a few months from now.  It’s not a top-level movie, but it has some good qualities.  I saw “Reds” thirty-five years ago, and I remembered the feeling of leaving the theatre back then.  This time, it was just another movie.  The title, though, seemed appropriate for the approaching Trump era.  The movie, I read, was a financial failure over the Thanksgiving weekend.  I took the bus over to the Target store in Emeryville.  I looked for some clothes on sale, but wasn’t satisfied with those items, so I just bought a Star Wars shirt and beanie and left.  If I want a good light saber, I have to spend some money.  I stopped to buy a burrito and went to browse the record store.  I bought CDs of Rhiannon Giddens, George Harrison, and a recording of “Madama Butterfly.”  I watched the Partridge Family episode “For Sale By Owner.”  What caught my eyes was the collection of photographs at Danny’s booth.  He also had one of David Cassidy’s albums.  There was no mention of Keith doing a solo album, but it was right there.  I didn’t see Laurie eating anything.  I also saw the NUMB3RS episode “Growin’ Up.”  Larry took notice of the full moon as a clue.  Amita had an idea for a wedding in Europe.  I’m down to the final episode, and so I thought of which series to watch next on Fridays.  I watched part of the game between Washington and Colorado.  I was impressed with Washington when I saw them a few weeks ago.  “Black Beauty” from 1971 was on the television, but it made me fall asleep.  In the morning, I saw Kevin Hart talking about Tommy John underwear.  It sounds like a pretty good product, but I don’t know if I can afford forking over the big money for that stuff.  Some of the people who died on December 3 include Robert Louis Stevenson (1894), Auguste Renoir (1919), and Madeline Kahn (1999).  Today is a birthday for Daryl Hannah (56), Julianne Moore (56), and Ozzy Osbourne (68).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

