Parade

I watched the CBS This Morning chef segment.  Two of Sam Fox’s signature recipes include Nana Stoll’s Coffee Cake and Pistols at Dawn Cocktail.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on December 6, 1975 were “My Little Town,” “Saturday Night,” “Nights On Broadway,” “Low Rider,” “Island Girl,” “The Way I Want to Touch You,” “Let’s Do It Again,” “Sky High,” “That’s the Way (I Like It),” and “Fly, Robin, Fly.”  I went to the laundromat to wash two blankets and a pair of jeans.  I hung around the library for an hour and borrowed four Criterion Collection Blu-ray discs.  I took the bus over to Albany and bought a burrito before heading to the theatre to see “Manchester by the Sea” again.  I paid closer attention this time and gained something.  When I returned home, I watched Jacques Tati’s “Parade,” his last film from 1974.  It showed the circus, and Tati himself was the master of ceremonies.  It felt like a bit of Fellini mixed in with Ingmar Bergman’s “The Magic Flute.”  I liked the jugglers, who took me back to the 1980s.  Some of the audience get involved, and at one point it looked dangerous when an animal was kicking at them.  One of the kids looked restless and bored at the beginning.  I thought that Tati shouldn’t have put some much of his resources into “Playtime” because he could have made more films over the years.  I didn’t find the soccer bit really all that funny because I can’t stand soccer.  After the financial failure of “Playtime,” Tati had to scale back, and seeing “Parade” makes me appreciate what went into “Playtime.”  I still like “Parade” as a last look at Tati’s work.  I stopped to watch the Star Trek episode that was airing on Me TV, “For the World is Hollow, and I Have Touched the Sky.”  I don’t know why Kirk would bring the Enterprise back to the scene a year later when they have other things to do.  Besides, this was the third year of the mission, and they never got to the fourth.  I left the television set on to the news about the warehouse fire.  The A’s pledged to match $30,000 in relief donations.  I flashed back to the Great White accident of some years ago.  Some of the people who died on December 4 include Bert Lahr (1967), Tommy Bolin (1976), Benjamin Britten (5), Frank Zappa (1993), and Robert Loggia (2015).  Today is a birthday for Fred Armisen (50), Marisa Tomei (52), and Jeff Bridges (67).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 4, the members of Led Zeppelin announced in 1980 that they would not continue as a band after the death of John Bonham.  In 1989, the Supreme Court ruled in favor of Prince in a copyright infringement case involving Prince’s half-sister Lorna Nelson and the lyrics to the song “U Got the Look.”  In 1990, Madonna appeared on the Nightline television show to defend her video for “Justify My Love.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

