Knight of Cups

I wasn’t eager to go out and go to work, even though this is final exam week.  I talked about Blondie’s Pizza and “Toni Erdmann” during the shift.  I was eager to leave and have my late lunch.  I went over to Dollar Tree to buy towels, and then I took the bus over to Target to buy a new pair of jeans.  When I got home, I decided to see “Knight of Cups” again.  I don’t know what Terrence Malick was doing in working on this film without a script.  He did assemble a pretty good cast, with Christian Bale, Cate Blanchett, Natalie Portman, Brian Dennehy, Antonio Banderas, and Ryan O’Neal.  Ben Kingsley was the narrator.  It was supposed to take place in Los Angeles and Las Vegas, but there were shots of other cities.  The camera was on Bale constantly, but we hear very little of his dialogue.  I wondered if Malick had any particular fascination with bicycles, because there are a couple of noticeable moments with them in this film.  At least people weren’t talking on their cell phones through this film.  I’m going to go way out on a limb here and say that Christian Bale won’t get an Oscar nomination for his performance, which consists of wandering around and making self-conscious facial expressions for two hours.  Well, he does voice-over.  There are six women that Bale’s character Rick tries to relate to.  Blanchett was Rick’s ex-wife Nancy.  The movie spends more time with Portman’s character Elizabeth.  I can’t say that I changed my mind about this movie after seeing it a second time.  I appreciated the visual qualities a bit more.  Malick did manage to capture a lot of memorable images.  The dogs in the water were interesting.  I wondered if any of the actors approached Malick and told him that he was crazy and that the entire film would be a horrendous mess.  I wonder if Malick thinks about his audience out there who have been with him since “Badlands.”  If you like “The Tree of Life,” Knight of Cups” goes further in that direction, way, way further.  I’m still interested in what Malick would do next, but a lot of the excitement is gone.  I don’t really want to see him spend the rest of his career making movies like this one.  Some of the people who died on December 13 include Donatello (1466), Samuel Johnson (1784), and Wassily Kandinsky (1944).  Today is a birthday Steve Buscemi (59), and Morris Day (59), Christopher Plummer (87), and Dick Van Dyke (91).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

