Dirty Grandpa

I submitted my grades and thus was done with the semester.  After I was done with work, I stopped at Bongo Burger for a hamburger.  Back at home, I watched the beginning of a Laugh-In episode with John Wayne and James Garner before I switched to “Dirty Grandpa.”  The stars were Robert De Niro and Zac Efron.  The model for the movie seemed to be “The In-Laws,” with one wacky character and one character trying to live a normal life.  De Niro was the grandfather whose wife had just died, and Efron was the grandson with a plan to get married.  De Niro’s outrageous behavior consisted of a foul mouth and flashes of violence, although he was seeking a sexual release with a young woman.  Efron is a lawyer specializing in corporate dealings, and he is engaged to Julianne Hough, who is planning their wedding in excruciating detail.  The old guy seems to be undermining the kid’s plan, pointing out that he used to like photography when he was a child.  The old man has some mystery about him.  How does he know how to hotwire a golf cart?  There are lies, crude jokes, and one person winding up in jail, although it’s not quite like “Bringing Up Baby.”  Two cops are around for humor, leading me to think of the James Bond movie “The Man with the Golden Gun.”  One character reminded me of Sacha Baron Cohen.  I didn’t expect too much from this movie, and I would say it didn’t deliver very much.  I thought it tried to be like a dozen movies, including a spring break movie like “Spring Breakdown.”  The attempts at humor were mostly stale, on the level of a weak Adam Sandler movie.  I kept thinking that De Niro won an Oscar for “Raging Bull” years ago, and after all this time, he can’t appear in winners every time out.  I remember De Niro being in two comedies that I liked, “Midnight Run” and “Meet the Parents.”  Did “The King of Comedy” count?  I could see how “It Was a Good Day” could end up on the soundtrack, but I didn’t quite understand how “Time in a Bottle” made it on there.  Efron and De Niro drove from Georgia to Florida, which was something that the main character in “Moonlight” did.  However, this movie also had penis jokes and a loud car chase.  Nobody really needs to see this movie.  I am glad that I did not pay any money to see it.  I could not see how either Jeff Bridges or Michael Douglas, two other Oscar winners, would have agreed to be in this movie.  Amazingly, it brought in nearly $100 million worldwide.  Didn’t people have a choice of better movies to see?  Richard Roeper really hated the movie and didn’t think he would see a worse movie for the rest of the year.  I fell asleep while watching TV.  I was discouraged with the weather forecast, which calls for rain tomorrow. Some of the people who died on December 22 include George Eliot (1880), Nathanael West (1940), Beatrix Potter (1943), Harry Langdon (1944), Darryl F. Zanuck (1979), Samuel Beckett (1989), Butterfly McQueen (1995), Joe Strummer (2002), and Joe Cocker (2014).  Today is a birthday for Ralph Fiennes (54), Diane Sawyer (71), and Hector Elizando (80).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for December 22, the third Dirty Harry movie, “The Enforcer,” starring Clint Eastwood and Tyne Daly, was released.  In 1979, the Number One single was Rupert Holmes’ “Escape (The Piña Colada Song).”  In 1984, Madonna had the Number One single with “Like a Virgin.”  In 1989, “Tango and Cash,” starring Sylvester Stallone, Kurt Russell, Jack Palance, and Teri Hatcher, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

