I Love You Perfect

I spent part of the morning throwing away from old stuff from years ago.  It was a bit painful to do.  There was a fun dinosaur calendar from 1986 that I had to part with.  I had to let it go, though.  I sat down to hate a lunch of a turkey sandwich, and then I sat down to watch “I Love You Perfect,” the 1989 movie with Susan Dey.  It was a variation of “Love Story,” with Dey as Christina Taylor, a young woman with a dream of becoming a chef.  Her love interest is Alan Matthews, although he seemed so unenthusiastic about their relationship that I thought Christina was wasting her energy.  It’s unusual to see the woman doing the suggesting and pursuing.  I thought back on someone like Barbra Streisand.  The producers probably should have gone back and snagged a bigger name.  It takes a long time to reach the point of Christina’s medical problems, and the issue was that her case would have been curable if she had been notified sooner instead of two years after the fact.  I wondered if Dey’s dealings with doctors who were unfamiliar with anorexia motivated her to make this movie.  She seemed pretty comfortable being in front of the camera and maybe even enjoyed making this film.  Her character showed a love for horses that made me think of the horseback riding sequence in “Little Women.”  She was about 37 at the time of the making of this film, and she looked like she was a fair distance away from Laurie Partridge emotionally.  I found it difficult to watch these scenes with her loss of hair and her face drained of life.  I thought about my brother’s last ten weeks of life.  The drama came down to a lawsuit, and I think the announcement of the result was not written too well in this script.  I think the movie leaves a bit of doubt about whether Christina was left in the dark, or if she was too wrapped up in her own plans that she wasn’t paying attention to the test results.  Christina’s friend Gloria was played by Alley Mills of “The Wonder Years.”  The movie had its good moments, and I would rate it as being slightly above average.  Susan Dey’s career reached an impressive level with some good programs and TV movies, although she could have had a breakout success with “Grease.”  Movies like “Looker” and “Echo Park” were good.  She did win an Emmy.  I would see “I Love You Perfect” again, although I’m not rushing for that second viewing.  The director was Harry Winer, Shelley Hack’s husband, known for “SpaceCamp.”  The writer Dalene Young was known for “Cross Creek.”  Yanni did the soundtrack music, and the album actually reached Number 13 on the Billboard New Age Albums chart.  Thinking back on it, the release of the horse was something of an inspiring moment, and it made me think back to John Huston, Marilyn Monroe, and Clark Gable and “The Misfits.”  “I Love You Perfect” was not quite uplifting or deep, but I liked it more than the trashy programs I see on current television. I heard the news about Carrie Fisher’s death.  I wondered if she could have survived if she wasn’t on the plane when she had her heart attack.  If you abuse cocaine, it will take its toll on your health.  I took a walk to the neighborhood library and saw how it had been remodeled.  The interior looked clean and boring, with no works of art on the walls.  They had more room for videos and computers, and there was a new teen room.  I walked over to the hardware store to buy mouse traps.  I didn’t have the energy to take a walk all the way to the beach.  The days were going by too quickly, and I had to go back to work.  The high cost of living means that I have to continue to make money until I’m ready to drop dead.  I watched “Beyond Betrayal” before I went to bed.  It was a tale of a woman named Joanna, who flees to escape her abusive cop husband.  Susan Dey was Joanne, and Richard Dean Anderson was Bradley.  Anderson was quite frightening, and he convinced me that he could be something other than MacGyver.  The part of the plot with the phone calls seemed like it was out of Hitchcock.  Another theme from Hitchcock was the police you couldn’t trust.  One movie cliché I wished they could have skipped was the car that was hard to start.  The people who led Bradley to Joanna were truly stupid, and it is so difficult to see down and watch stupid characters.  I also thought that the ending was predictable.  At least I could see what was happening from a mile away.  The messages in this movie weren’t quite as obvious as in what you’d typically see in a television movie.  This one was fun to watch in its stupid way.  It was the kind of movie that I would sit around and laugh at as I was watching it years ago.  It’s rather difficult to think about 1994 being twenty-two years ago.  Richard Dean Anderson is now 66 years old.  I said goodbye to my mother as I headed to the train station.  At her age, each time I see her could be the last time I see her.  I heard about the news that Debbie Reynolds had died.  She just couldn’t go on after Carrie’s death, apparently.  I thought that after I got home, I should watch “Singin’ in the Rain” one more time.  Donald O’Connor died at age 78 on September 27, 2003.  Gene Kelly died in his sleep at age 83 on February 2, 1996.  Some of the people who died on December 29 include Rainer Maria Rilke (1926), Euell Gibbons (1975), Tim Hardin (1980), Lita Grey (1995), and Freddie Hubbard (2008).  Today is a birthday for Patricia Clarkson (57), Ted Danson (69), Jon Voight (78), and Mary Tyler Moore (80).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

