The Unsinkable Molly Brown

I went out to see “Rogue One” again.  The audience was pretty enthusiastic about it, although the image of Princess Leia was sad to see after Carrie Fisher’s death.  I took the bus into Emeryville to buy two pairs of ear buds, a pair of jeans, and Beatles calendars.  After I returned home, I watched the Partridge Family episode “I Left My Heart in Cincinnati.”  Keith was particularly stupid in this one.  I watched a DVD of “The Unsinkable Molly Brown.”  I don’t know why I never saw it up until now.  I guess that not very many musicals appealed to me during my childhood.  She earned an Oscar nomination for her performance, as her character transformed from country bumpkin to sophisticated lady.  That part of the story resembled other movies like “My Fair Lady” or “Working Girl.”  Molly Brown looked like a completely different person in the beginning.  She was one of those young women who couldn’t get married, so she sets out for the big world and big cities like Denver.  She and her husband find their fortune, and they visit Europe.  Molly ends up on the Titanic.  I didn’t like this movie as much as “The Music Man.”  The songs were not as good.  There was a flat feeling to the numbers compared with “Singin’ in the Rain.”  I appreciated how Stanley Donen used the camera.  Debbie Reynolds threw herself into this role.  Everyone else in the cast seemed to be in the background.  Hayden Rorke was one of the people I recognized.  The movie was big and colorful, and watching Debbie Reynolds again gave me a nostalgic feeling.  “The Unsinkable Molly Brown” wasn’t on the level of “My Fair Lady,” but it was amusing.  I like watching the old musicals more than “La La Land.”  The disc had a special feature on the making of one of Debbie Reynolds’ dresses.  It’s amazing how much effort went into the wardrobe.  The movie had an overture and exit music, but no intermission.  The ending was curious, apparently not on the right note.  The screenplay was by Helen Deutsch.  I wondered if that explained why the male characters were in the background.  Some of the people who died on December 31 include Roberto Clemente (1972), Marshall McLuhan (1980), Raoul Walsh (1980), Ricky Nelson (1985), George Allen (1990), Floyd Cramer (1997), Alan Cranston (2000), Eileen Heckart (2001), Donald E. Westlake (2008), Natalie Cole (2015), and Wayne Rogers (2015).  Today is a birthday for Val Kilmer (57), Ben Kingsley (73), and Anthony Hopkins (79).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

