Lion

After spending an hour in the library, I took the bus out to Albany to see “Lion.”  I stopped to have a burrito for lunch, and the television set had news about the Fort Lauderdale shooting.  The movie was shown in the upstairs theatre, and some elderly people were there.  The opening moments show brothers Saroo and Guddu stealing coal from a train and then exchanging it in the marketplace for milk.  One night at a train station, the brothers are separated, and Saroo falls asleep on a train and ends up in Calcutta.  An Australian couple adopts him.  The separation from his actual family lasts more than 25 years.  The movie did make me think about how I sometimes fall asleep on the train, and how dangerous that can be.  It seemed that Guddu should not have allowed his younger brother to tag along on that fateful night because Saroo was too little to do the work he was seeking.  I had to wonder if more could not have been done to reunite Saroo with his family.  He didn’t know the name of his hometown or his mother’s name.  What were Saroo’s math and reasoning skills like when he appears to make mistakes in determining the areas to search using the Internet?  It goes to show that computers can’t do everything for you.  Saroo wastes a lot of time looking in the wrong places until it finally occurs to him to look outside the areas he’s marked on the map.  One point that the movie makes is that India has a huge population, and getting lost in the country can mean that you’re lost forever.  The time span of the story goes from 1986 to 2012, which is significant because of the technological explosion during that time.  You’re talking about a span from when Reagan was still president until the middle of the Obama era.  I don’t think that anyone outside of my family I knew in 1986 is still part of my life.  The last part of this film is quite powerful.  The story of separation reminded me of Warren Beatty and Diane Keaton in “Reds.”  Dev Patel plays the adult Saroo, and Nicole Kidman is the woman who adopts him.  I think this will be a popular movie for years to come.  It is more meaningful than “Passengers” or “Nocturnal Animals.”  I heard from sniffles from the audience during those last scenes.  After the movie ended, I stopped to shop at Trader Joe’s before returning home.  I didn’t want to go grocery shopping during the storm that was about to hit.  I was annoyed that the record store closed at 5:30.  I watched an episode of Laugh-In with Rosemary Clooney, and then the Partridge Family episode “The Eleven Year Itch” with Jodie Foster and Bert Convy.  Shirley served carrots at the dinner that they had, but I didn’t see Laurie eating any of them.  I heard that the Warriors blew a big lead and lost to the Grizzlies in overtime.  During the day, I thought about a trivia question about the women who danced with Fred Astaire in his movies.  I wasn’t looking forward to going out into the rain to go to work.  I was going to miss the first half of the Raiders game in Houston.  I am starting to make plans for the upcoming baseball season.  Some of the people who died on January 8 include Marco Polo (1324), Galileo Galilei (1642), Terry-Thomas (1990), Yvonne DeCarlo (2007), Iwao Takamoto (2007), Don Galloway (2009), and Art Clokey (2010).  Today is a birthday for Stephen Hawking (75), Bob Eubanks (79), Shirley Bassey (80), and Charles Osgood (84).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

