Sing

I went out into the rain and to Jack London Square to see “Sing.”  I would rate it as mildly entertaining.  It had a pretty impressive cast, with Matthew McConaughey, Reese Witherspoon, Seth MacFarlane, Scarlett Johansson, John C. Reilly, Jennifer Hudson, Rhea Perlman, and Laraine Newman.  The first song was “Golden Slumbers.”  I didn’t recognize McConaughey’s voice at all, so I guess he must be the greatest actor in the world.  Reese Witherspoon did some singing in “Walk the Line,” I think.  Seth MacFarlane did a Frank Sinatra imitation.  I didn’t want to hear “My Way” again.  Scarlett Johansson sang a song in “The Jungle Book,” but I didn’t want to hear her sing at all.  Her character was a porcupine.  John C. Reilly had a good cartoon voice.  The plot isn’t much of a plot, a variation on those old musicals about putting on a show.  One thing I didn’t want was to hear a lot of songs that I didn’t know.  It seemed to me that the plot lines about the mouse and the gorilla were too similar.  Something else that I got out of the movie was the thought that I didn’t like Taylor Swift’s songs, as I heard “Shake It Off.”  The loudest family in the world was sitting to my right, and I imagined that every day was misery for them.  The gorilla sang Elton John’s “I’m Still Standing.”  The last singer was the elephant named Meena, who naturally had to overcome stage fright for her moment of triumph.  Her song was Stevie Wonder’s “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing,” which was an unusual selection, although it reminded me of the ending to “High Fidelity.”  This was not a movie that you could take seriously, but I liked it well enough to take my mind off a rainstorm.  I would rather hear all the original recordings of all these songs rather than listen to some movie stars.  I headed back home to check my floor and watch the game between the Packers and the Giants.  You have to figure that a team is destined to win when they get an impossible touchdown on the last play of the first half.  I heard the news that Cal fired Sonny Dykes.  That was not the biggest surprise to me, considering how bad the team looked.  Sonny also seemed to be looking for another job elsewhere.  I watched a Biography program about Jennifer Jones.  One of the people interviewed was Carrie Fisher, who was described as one of her friends.  I watched the Columbo episode “Murder, Smoke, and Shadows.”  I thought the villain in the story was something like Steven Spielberg.  It felt like a lot of the magic of the program was missing, and I fell asleep before the ending.  I heard that “La La Land” won a lot of Golden Globes, and Isabelle Huppert was recognized for “Elle.”  Meryl Streep had some things to say about Donald Trump.  The rain let up a bit, and I hoped to be able to get some chores done before the next storm.  Some of the people who died on January 10 include Buffalo Bill (1917), Sinclair Lewis (1951), Gabriela Mistral (1957), Dashiell Hammett (1961), Coco Chanel (1971), Howlin’ Wolf (1976), Richard Boone (1981), Carlo Ponti (2007), and David Bowie (2016).  Today is a birthday for Pat Benatar (64), George Foreman (68), and Rod Stewart (72).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

