Silence

I got a phone call from my parents, and I told them how cold the mornings were.  I went out to Trader Joe’s.  I listened to Tom Hanks on Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me before I took the bus out to the Grand Lake Theatre.  I went there to see “Silence” because it was a Martin Scorsese film.  I wasn’t there to see it because Andrew Garfield and Adam Driver were in it.  Their character names were Rodrigues and Garupe, respectively.  They were in 17th century Japan to find Ferreira, who was Liam Neeson, and to spread the word of Christianity.  This movie made me think about “The Last Temptation of Christ” and “The Mission.”  I tried to imagine what it would have been like if Scorsese had made it years ago with Robert De Niro and Harvey Keitel.  The title actually felt like it was from Ingmar Bergman, and a shot of Garfield and Driver relaxing in the sun made me think of Bergman.  I was rooting against the Christians as I watched this story.  I don’t know why the Japanese should accept these wacky European concepts at all.  If I was told I could save lives by stepping on a picture of Jesus Christ, I would do it without hesitation.  In fact, I would sit on the picture and fart on it if that was what I was told to do.  I couldn’t see why Scorsese would want to cast Garfield for this movie.  I found him unimpressive in the Amazing Spider-Man movies.  Adam Driver lost a lot of weight for this movie, and I can’t say that I liked him in the Star Wars movie.  I thought the English language was a problem for the Asian actors, and it because a distraction on the screen.  I thought the Inquisitor was reminiscent of Keye Luke.  The audience was patient with the movie, although I felt that some of them got restless, and they felt like laughing at some scenes.  Adam Driver had a terrible last scene.  I read that Fellini’s “La Strada” was an influence on the script.  This movie felt like it went on for too long.  I find it hard to believe that anyone could think that this is Scorsese’s best film of all time.  The filming was in Taiwan.  I could see why they didn’t do the filming in Japan, because the cost of doing the filming there would have been astronomical.  Daniel Day-Lewis was originally going to play the Neeson role, but this film took a long time to get off the ground.  I couldn’t imagine that it had much appeal for people on this holiday weekend with football games on the tube.  This isn’t going to me the most popular Scorsese film.  It was tiring to watch, and I was eager to get home after spending nearly three hours in the theatre.  I headed home to watch the end of the Packers-Cowboys game.  Aaron Rodgers did throw an impressive last pass in that game.  The kicker must have been cool under pressure to make two good kicks at the end.  I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN.  He played some songs by Leonard Cohen, including “Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye.”  I watched the Columbo episode on Me TV.  It was “Sex and the Married Detective,” and the guest star was Lindsay Crouse.  Afterwards, there was Kolchak: The Night Stalker, which I thought was an unusual television show.  Some of the people who died on January 17 include Rutherford B. Hayes (1893), T.H. White (1964), Billy Stewart (1970), Betty Smith (1972), Richard Crenna (2003), Art Buchwald (2007), Bobby Fischer (2008), Erich Segal (2010), and Don Kirshner (2011).  Today is a birthday for Michelle Obama (53), Steve Harvey (60), James Earl Jones (86), and Betty White (95).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

