Neruda

I went out to see “Neruda,” which had Luis Gnecco as Pablo Neruda and Gael García Bernal as a police inspector named Peluchonneau pursuing him.  Neruda leaves conspicuous clues like a white suit behind.  He becomes a celebrated figure in Europe, as artists such as Pablo Picasso speak out in favor of Neruda’s freedom.  It seems that this movie has a connection to “Il Postino,” although I kept thinking about Bernardo Bertolucci.  The scenes in the snow at the end also made me think of “The Hateful Eight.”  There is a bit of “The Great Escape” in the final section with the motorcycle and sidecar.  Maybe it was Inspector Clouseau in the Pink Panther movies.  In an interview in the New York Times, director Pablo Larraín described his movie as an “anti-bio,” and Neruda as “ungrabbable, impossible to put in a box.”  I kept looking at the trees in the scenery.  I don’t know how others in the audience felt about this film, but I was mostly unexcited.  Larraín tried something really different, which I’ll give him credit for, but if he’s doing these unusual things, it makes me question whether he had enough material to do a film in the first place.  I see similarities between “Neruda” and “Jackie.”  You have historical figures attempting to exert control over their stories and public images.  I preferred “Jackie” because Larraín took fewer liberties with the story.  I got rather tired of watching “Neruda.”   I heard the news that Eugene Cernan had died at age 82.  He was the last man on the moon, and I saw a documentary about him not long ago.  Some of the people who died on January 18 include John Tyler (1862), Rudyard Kipling (1936). Curly Howard (1952), Sydney Greenstreet (1954), Carl Betz (1978), Kate McGarrigle (2010), and Glenn Frey (2016).  Today is a birthday for Kevin Costner (2016).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

