20th Century Women

I woke up early and watched CBS Sunday Morning.  Serena Altschul did a segment about camera obscura, and there were also segments with Michael Keaton and Henry Winkler.  I watched the first quarter of the game with the Falcons and the Packers, and then I walked over to the theatre to see “20th Century Women.”  It took place in Santa Barbara in 1979.  Annette Bening was Theodora, a 55-year-old mother of a 15-year-old named Jamie.  Greta Gerwig is Abbie, and she rents a room in their house.  Elle Fanning is Julie, a friend of Jamie’s.  Billy Crudup is William, a carpenter who hangs around and creates a complication.  The movie was more amusing than I thought it would be.  I had firsthand memories of 1979, and this movie had some of the feeling of a movie from that year, “Breaking Away.”  I did know who the Talking Heads were in 1979, but I don’t know if I had heard of Black Flag.  I also got a sense of John Irving as I watched this movie.  I couldn’t help looking at the cars and the products on the shelves of the store for an indication that the scenes weren’t being filmed in 1979.  I didn’t notice anything, but maybe people out there are sharper than I am.  It was sad to hear about the fates of these characters.  There was a ghostly quality to Dorothea’s narration.  As the end credits rolled, the audience applauded Annette Bening’s name.  They viewed her performance as something special.  I believe that this movie will develop a growing following as the years pass because it is a crowd pleaser, at least for a certain type of crowd.  I watched a special program on the life of Tippi Hedren, and then the Columbo episode “Grand Deceptions” with Robert Foxworth.  I had never even heard of the movie “Roar,” but now I’m interested in taking a look at it.  I don’t get as much enjoyment from the 1989 Columbo episodes as the earlier ones, like the Janet Leigh episode.  Some of the people who died on January 25 include Al Capone (1947), Irene Castle (1969), Adele Astaire (1981), and Ava Gardner (1990).  Today is a birthday for Alicia Keys (36) and Marcus Samuelsson (47).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for January 25, “Pantomime Quiz” won the award for Most Popular Television Program at the 1st Emmy Awards in 1949.  In 1961, “101 Dalmatians” was released.  In 1970, Robert Altman’s “M*A*S*H” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

