The Peanuts Movie

Most of the drama of the protest over Milo Yiannopoulos was over by the time I was done with work and headed home.  I did watch the news when I stopped over a hamburger.  I did hear helicopters overhead, and the police telling everyone to disburse.  The crowd never got close to my apartment building, however.  After calming down, I watched “The Peanuts Movie” on Blu-ray.  The key to a successful Peanuts cartoon is casting the voices of Charlie Brown, Linus, and Lucy.  Charlie Brown here was different than what I expected, but that was OK.  I think of Charlie Brown as being worn down by disappointments so that his voice is worn.  The movie doesn’t add much to the Peanuts universe, although we get a look at the red-haired girl.  The setting seems almost exactly like it was during the 1960s and 1970s.  No one had a cell phone or a computer, and I preferred it that way.  Snoopy still used a typewriter.  The only indications of passing time that I saw were the recycling bin that Charlie Brown carried, and the bouncy house at the end.  I kept noticing how powerfully some of the kids were attracted to the someone of the opposite sex at such a young age, namely Charlie Brown, Lucy, and Sally.  Charlie Brown had the reputation of being a loser, a clod, and a fool, but he did read Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace over one weekend, and he wrote a book report on it.  He couldn’t have been an idiot if he could keep all those Russian names straight inside his read.  There were times during Snoopy’s adventures with the Red Baron that I wished I were watching all of this in 3D.  It was unusual to see the shapes of everyone’s heads.  The movie plays it same, which I found acceptable.  I don’t expect wild experimentation from a Peanuts movie.  My only real complaint is that the ending was too sweet.  All of that praise Charlie Brown got made me flash back to the Academy Awards and all those phony speeches about each of the acting nominees.  I read Christy Lemire’s review of “The Peanuts Movie,” and I thought it was too harsh.  The movie brought back the fun of reading the comic strip.  It was a modest pleasure.  I wasn’t expecting the movie to change my life.  I fell asleep and heard the sounds of rain on the roof.  I got dressed and walked around to see the damage from the protesters.  I took a photo of the generator that caught fire.  I sat that some of the banks downtown had their windows broken.  I couldn’t help thinking that the protesters had fallen into Milo Yiannopoulus’ trap.  I felt that I just wanted to get through the rest of this work week in decent shape.  Some of the people who died on February 3 include Woodrow Wilson (1924), Buddy Holly (1959), Ritchie Valens (1959), John Cassavetes (1989), Nancy Kulp (1991), Audrey Meadows (1996), Al Lewis (2006), Maria Schneider (2011), and Ben Gazzara (2012).  Today is a birthday for Nathan Lane (61), Morgan Fairchild (67), and Blythe Danner (74).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

