Forushande

I watched CBS Sunday Morning.  One segment was about the art of lip synching.  If Susan Dey was watching, she might have felt better about her work in The Partridge Family.  Another report was about pinball machines.  One of the popular machines had a Ghostbusters theme.  There was also a profile of Emma Stone, who practiced lead parts and directing as her brother played all the other parts.  My parents didn’t phone me because apparently they were oversleeping for the second time in three weeks.  After stopping at Trader Joe’s, I headed towards Best Buy as I listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio.  I bought a new CD player.  I then took the bus out to Albany to catch the screening of “The Salesman” at one o’clock.  The writer and director was Asghar Farhadi, and the film had some similarities to “A Separation.”  It had a couple who was rehearsing for a production of Arthur Miller’s “Death of a Salesman.”  When the wife, Ranaa, was alone in their apartment, a stranger enters. The husband Emad tracks down the person through information about a pickup truck.  The man is an old man with some health problems, and he inflames Emad with lies.  Humiliation and the threat of humiliation are themes in the confrontation.  Emad is angry enough to destroy this old man, but Ranaa wants him to back off.  The play didn’t have any profound effect on Emad’s outlook.  The final scenes of the movie are tense and dramatic.  I did have the feeling that I was seeing “A Separation” again.  The audience of elderly people was impressed with the movie, although I didn’t feel it was it was a film that I really needed to see.  I feel that Asghar Farhadi should try something completely different for his next film, even though this one was a box office success in Iran.  I should have gone out to see something more entertaining for a Sunday afternoon.  I went home and listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN.  He played songs from some of the best albums of 2016, including Radiohead, PJ Harvey, Nick Cave, and Lucinda Williams.  I watching the beginning of the Grammy Awards but changed the channel before the Best New Artist award.  I watched the first part of a Columbo episode with Faye Dunaway, which was “It’s All in the Game” from 1993.  Her appearance brought back some memories of “Chinatown.”  I thought she looked better than she did in “Supergirl” in 1984.  I was too sleepy to watch The Night Stalker.  During the night, I kept hearing news about the dam that was in danger of bursting.  If I had to evacuate my apartment, I’m afraid that I might be left behind to die.  I don’t know why Adele didn’t have the control over her mouth that she had to blurt out a bad word over the air.  I had the suspicion that she was trying to show the world that she was not lip synching.  Some of the people who died on February 14 include Frederick Loewe (1988), Doug Fieger (2010), George Shearing (2011), and Louis Jourdan (2015).  Today is a birthday for Simon Pegg (47) and Teller (69).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 14, Heart’s “Dreamboat Annie” album was released in 1976.  In 1977, the B-52’s played their first gig at a house party in Athens, Georgia.  In 1989, ornithologist James Bond, whose name Ian Fleming used for his fictional spy character, died in Philadelphia at age 89.  In 1992, “Wayne’s World,” starring Mike Myers and Dana Carvey, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

