Dark City

I watched CBS Sunday Morning. They showed the Girl Scout who gave her honest opinions on the cookies. I went out grocery shopping, and then I went into the bookstore to buy a book about Francois Truffaut. I thought it was worth it for six dollars. I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre to catch “The LEGO Batman Movie” again. There were quite a few children at this screening. People laughed at Batman putting his food into the microwave oven. I paid attention to his video collection, which included “Jerry Maguire,” “Must Love Dogs,” “Marley and Me,” and “Serendipity.” The rain and wind had picked up after two hours, so I was eager to get home. I browsed through the record store and their used DVDs, and I bought the first season of “L.A. Law” and “The Greatest Story Ever Told,” and a few more items from the bargain bin. I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN. He played tracks from some of the best albums of 2016, including Sturgill Simpson, Beyoncé, Miranda Lambert, Angel Olson, and Conor Oberst. I watched a Columbo episode with Patrick McGoohan that hinged on a piece of cheese. It was called “Agenda for Murder.” I watched the DVD of “Dark City.” It was Roger Ebert’s choice for the best movie of 1998, and I had bought it for only 50 cents. The stars were Rufus Sewell, Kiefer Sutherland, Jennifer Connelly, Richard O’Brien, Ian Richardson, and William Hurt. The director was Alex Proyas, who had also done “The Crow.” The main character, John Murdoch, wakes up with memory loss, leading me to think of “Memento.” These strange beings with powerful minds are behind the unusual happenings. The special effects were startling for 1998, and they were things that you would see in “The Matrix,” “Inception,” and “Doctor Strange.” I thought Sewell and Sutherland were not the best choices for their roles. Sewell was kind of like a Jude Law. It was hard to see Sutherland as a weak type of individual after seeing him in “The Lost Boys.” I thought that his narration to begin the movie was terrible. Jennifer Connelly still had a youthful look about her face at this point. The whole man on the run story felt a bit like “The Fugitive.” I thought the movie was fun to watch, but when you thought about it, the Strangers were not so smart. It seemed that they should have figured things out if they had simply been good observers. One of the interesting settings was the Automat, and it was interesting to see this futuristic story that had old cars and old movie theaters. We see images from the 1940s. I had wondered what William Hurt had done in the years since “The Accidental Tourist.” It was funny that his character played the accordion. One of the special features on the disc compared this movie to Fritz Lang’s “Metropolis.” One of the audio commentary tracks featured Roger Ebert. He mentioned the Fibonacci spiral and how the movie didn’t use four-letter words. The movie does have a graphic novel quality, and I liked it more than, say, “Jupiter Ascending.” Ebert thought that this movie would be considered a landmark in science fiction films. I thought it was above average, but not as big or lasting in our memories as “Blade Runner” or “The Matrix.” Where did Alex Proyas go from here? I stayed up to watch “Kolchak: The Night Stalker.” The story showed people who spontaneously combusted. I was unable to stay up to watch another movie. Two of the people who died on February 21 include Hieronymus Bock (1554) and Malcolm X (1965). Today is a birthday for Ellen Page (30), Kelsey Grammer (62), and Anthony Daniels (71).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

