Sicario

I kept hearing about Magic Johnson’s new job running the Lakers.  I had some doubts about his ability to do the job.  He did have that unsuccessful late night television show.  The rain was gone, but the mornings have been cold.  After doing my laundry, I went out for six hours of work, and it was exhausting.  I stopped for a hamburger before returning home, and then I watched “Sicario.”  The movie made me think back to “The Border” with Jack Nicholson and Valerie Perrine, and how different the world seemed thirty-five years ago.  I also thought further back to “The French Connection.”  The opening of the movie was powerful and made me wonder what those corpses smelled like.  The Emily Blunt character reminded me of the Jessica Chastain character in “Zero Dark Thirty,” and I got the two of them slightly confused.  Somehow, I expected something like Josh Brolin to appear in this movie.  He did cross the border in “No Country for Old Men,” and he’s appeared with Benicio Del Toro in other movies, too.  One scene I thought was very strange was Kate immediately starting to kiss Ted and going home with him.  He sure didn’t seem like a kind of a man to get excited about so quickly, and I wondered if there was a slightest bit of caution in Kate’s character.  I watched this movie in part because Lorene Scafaria’s mother liked it so much that I became curious about it.  I liked the movie, but not quite that much.  I think that if you watch it again now in the light of the Donald Trump presidency, it will be rather frightening.  There was a lot of killing.  The movie was not a replacement for something like “Traffic,” which also had Benicio Del Toro in it.  I thought about that episode of “The Quest” with Don Meredith in it in which he illegally crosses the Mexico border to hunt down a criminal.  The mayor of Juarez asked for a boycott of “Sicario.”  Somehow, I would be skeptical of any of his criticisms.  Denis Villeneuve’s current film, of course, is “Arrival,” which also had some exciting qualities.  His future projects include a Blade Runner sequel and a remake of “Dune.”  I’m not too sure that I would be eager to see either of those.  One quality that Villeneuve’s films have, besides being praised by many critics, is that they are exhausting to watch.  One notable person who worked on “Sicario” was Roger Deakins, the cinematographer.  He has earned thirteen Oscar nominations for Best Cinematography between 1994 and 2015, for “The Shawshank Redemption,” “Fargo,” “Kundun,” “O Brother, Where Art Thou?,” “The Man Who Wasn’t There,” “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford,” “No Country for Old Men,” “The Reader,” “True Grit,” “Skyfall,” “Prisoners,” “Unbroken,” and “Sicario.”  He is 67 years old.  Some of the people who died on February 24 include Johnnie Ray (1990), George Gobel (1991), Dinah Shore (1994), Henny Youngman (1998), Octavia Butler (2006), Don Knotts (2006), Dennis Weaver (2006), and Harold Ramis (2014).  Today is a birthday for Edward James Olmos (70).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

