Oscar Night 2017

I watched CBS Sunday Morning and their segments about Grace Kelly and Sally Field.  My parents phoned me to tell me that they would be transferring some of their assets to me.  I should be getting a monthly check that should cover my rent.  I went out grocery shopping, and then I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “The LEGO Batman Movie” again.  I’m sure the kids didn’t understand many of the jokes.  I had the time to catch the Oscar-nominated animated shorts films again, so I did that.  I was more alert during the last film, “Pear Cider and Cigarettes,” and so I caught the bit at the end that reminded me of “The Big Lebowski.”  I trudged on home to catch the Oscars.  Jimmy Kimmel did mention Meryl Streep and Trump’s assessment of her as overrated, as I knew that he would.  He also seemed to make Mel Gibson uncomfortable.  The Best Supporting Actor award went to Mahershala Ali for “Moonlight,” which was pretty good for A’s fans, because he might come out to the Coliseum to throw out the first pitch one of these days.  John Axford and Sean Doolittle mentioned this on Twitter.  I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times on KCSN.  He played tracks by Frankie Miller, Willie Nelson, and Waylon Jennings.  I saw that Viola Davis won the Best Supporting Actress Oscar.  It looked like she was making a speech that was too long, but I had the sound down.  Damien Chazelle won the Best Director Oscar for “La La Land.”  I preferred seeing him win the award rather than Mel Gibson.  Casey Affleck won the Best Actor Oscar.  If I had a vote, I wouldn’t have voted for Denzel Washington.  Emma Stone won the Best Actress Oscar, which was not a surprise.  It didn’t seem that long ago that I was seeing her in movies like “The Rocker” and “Easy A.”  During the broadcast, Kimmel did bits with tourists, giving them a chance to meet the celebrities in the front row, and parachute drops.  We did get the chance to see Meryl Streep eating some Junior Mints.  Kimmel’s ongoing jokes with Matt Damon went too far near the end with the orchestra.  And then we came to the end of the night with a blunder of epic proportions.  With the Academy noting that it had been fifty years since “Bonnie and Clyde,” they brought out Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway.  Faye’s face had that unnaturally tight, facelifted look to it.  I wasn’t so sure about the wisdom of bringing out the old folks for a big moment, as I thought back to Bette Davis.  Beatty got confused about what was in the envelope, and I thought he wasn’t too gracious in handing it over to Faye to figure it out and be the one to make the mistake of all time.  She got impatient with the delay and apparently blurted out “La La Land” without carefully looking at the card.  As everyone knows by now, the Best Picture Oscar was “Moonlight.”  What happened to Faye?  Did she run off the stage?  What exactly was the mistake that had been made?  Was it the wrong envelope or the wrong card in the envelope?  I thought the card with Emma Stone’s name on it was already handed out.  On Twitter, it seemed that everyone’s comment was that they wished the same thing could have happened with the presidential election in November.  Kimmel made a comparison to Steve Harvey.  This incident made Price Waterhouse look incompetent, and made another institution look unreliable in our eyes.  I thought back to Frank Capra’s autobiography, and one Oscar night when he thought his named was called, but he made a mistake and had to take an embarrassing walk back to his seat.  This had to be the most bizarre ending I’ll ever see to an Oscars ceremony.  I couldn’t bear watching any of the post-Oscars shows, so I caught parts of the Columbo episodes that were on, and a bit of “Kolchak: The Night Stalker.”  I heard the news of the deaths of Bill Paxton, who was 61, and Judge Wapner, who was 97.  Some of the people who died on February 28 include Henry James (1916), Jonathan Hale (1966), Jane Russell (2011), and George Kennedy (2016).  Today is a birthday for Bernadette Peters (69) and Gavin MacLeod (86).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oscar Night 2017

  1. atthematinee says:

    Great to hear your thoughts on this! Have you shared your writing on any film sites before?

    Samuel

Leave a Reply

