Marley & Me

I was recovering from a cold and wrapping myself in blankets, and I sat down front of the television watching the end of “Escape From New York.”  I then watched “Marley and Me” again.  It was the reference in “The LEGO Batman Movie” that made me want to see this movie again.  Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston were a pretty good match, almost making me believe that they were really married.  The reporter friend Sebastian reminded me a bit of Pierce Brosnan.  I thought it was good to see people like Kathleen Turner and Alan Arkin in this movie, since they reminded me of decades past.  I wish now that I had caught Turner in that Molly Ivins play.  Alan Arkin will always make me think of “The In-Laws.”  I know what it’s like to have a dog that behaves badly in the house.  My parents have a dog that chewed up the furniture, like the dining room set that my mother treasured years ago.  I couldn’t help thinking about this couple working in newspaper writing.  This was the 1990s, and you could still making a living with it.  If this dog was going to eat everything in sight, eventually it was going to be the death of him.  It seems amazing that he could live to see thirteen years of life.  I thought about that movie about people eating themselves to death, “La Grande Bouffe,” and also the novel “The Middlesteins.”  “Marley and Me” is supposed to be one of the top movies that make men cry, or “guy-cry” films.  Looking at the list, I can see how “Field of Dreams” made it, as well as “Brian’s Song,” but I don’t know about some of the others.  “My Dog Skip” was a good movie.  I read a little bit about John Grogan.  He was born in 1957 and graduated from Central Michigan University in 1979.  He got his master’s degree in journalism from Ohio State University in 1986, and he got married in 1989.  Marley died in 2003.  I thought “Marley and Me” was enjoyable as far as your dog movies go, although it didn’t stay in my mind for very long.  The movie was slightly too long at 1:55.  I wondered why the job at the Philadelphia Inquirer was so attractive.  I don’t think I could stand the cold weather.  The director was David Frankel, who also worked on “The Devil Wears Prada,” but I didn’t notice any similarities between the two films.  The soundtrack included “Shiny Happy People” and “One Love.”  Seeing this movie also meant that I missed Trump’s speech on television.  I don’t want to be one of those people who constantly complains about Trump every day that he is president.  I wore my leather jacket to bed and awoke breathing easier and not coughing.  Getting some sleep really helps you get over a cold.  Some of the people who died on March 2 include D.H. Lawrence (1930), Charlie Christian (1942), Philip K. Dick (1982), David Ackles (1999), Dusty Springfield (1999), and Hank Ballard (2003).  Today is a birthday for Chris Martin (40) and Daniel Craig (49).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for Match 2, Miles Davis recorded the tracks “So What,” “Freddie Freeloader,” and “Blue in Green” for his album “Kind of Blue” in 1959.  In 1969, the Dean Martin movie “The Wrecking Crew” was Number One at the box office.  In 1986, “Pretty in Pink” with Molly Ringwald was Number One at the box office.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

