Ma vie de Courgette

I went out to do my laundry and sat down and read a few chapters of a Tolstoy novel.  I went grocery shopping and fell asleep while watching game shows on television.  I walked over to the theatre to see “My Life as a Zucchini.”  It was the French language version with English subtitles.  The English title of the movie brought to my mind the classic “My Life as a Dog,” which also dealt with childhood.  I thought the film also showed traces of “Small Change” and “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.”  Courgette is the nine-year-old boy who accidentally causes his mother’s death, although it was never she threatened to beat him.  At the orphanage, Courgette suffers some bullying, but he comes to make friends there, particularly a girl named Camille.  I really liked the animation in this film, and the colorful look of its world.  The cars and huge bodies and small wheels.  Even though the characters were experiencing some strong emotions, the atmosphere is generally quiet in this story.  Except for a few details like the laptop computer and the MP3 player, this could all be taking place in any decade since the 1950s.  There are some moments that aren’t for young children watching this movie, but it is very moving and beautiful, and I think audiences will be watching this one for many years to come.  It was better than “The Red Turtle.”  It made me feel pretty good as I left the theatre.  I saw that it got a good review from Kelly Vance in the East Bay Express.  You can turn to this movie after you see “Moonlight.”  You might not want to leave during the end credits, because there is an extra amusing little bit in the middle.  I bought a burrito and headed home.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “Hate Thy Neighbor.”  The house had all sorts of items that were new from the year before.  Laurie never got around to eating her hamburger.  The appearance of Ricky signaled the beginning of the end of the show.  It was certainly a mistake to give him a song in every one of his episodes.  I am looking for a Partridge Family lunchbox.  I would also like to get DVD copies of “Police Story” and “The Days and Nights of Molly Dodd.”  Some of the people who died on March 5 include Sergei Prokofiev (1953), Patsy Cline (1963), John Belushi (1982), William Powell (1984), Richard Kiley (1989), and Geoff Edwards (2014).  Today is a birthday for Penn Jillette (62).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

