Get Out

There was enough of a break in the rain that I could go out grocery shopping.  I listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio as I took the bus over to Jack London Square.  It seemed that a lot of people were going to see “Logan.”  I was there for “Get Out,” which I would describe as a combination of “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner” and “The Stepford Wives.”  Chris is the boyfriend, Rose is the girlfriend, and the family is unusual.  This is a movie that encourages a lot of comments from the audience.  Everyone was yelling at Chris for being stupid.  He in fact should have left the house at the first sign of weirdness.  He had a friend with the TSA who suspected what was going on.  Rose’s mother was Catherine Keener, the only person in the cast I recognized.  The character might have been even creepier if Catherine O’Hara had played her.  The script doesn’t exactly promote racial unity, as the plot becomes threatening, and the audience screams at Chris to kill the white people, and particularly Rose, who seems like she could be an employee of the Trump administration.  I flashed back to movies of the past, like “The Deer Hunter” and “Beverly Hills Cop.”  I can’t really like movie like “Get Out,” which bring out the ugly side of people.  It’s like watching one of your friends becoming a raving maniac screaming at the traffic on the freeway.  This movie makes me not want to take any sides in a debate over racial issues.  The director Jordan Peele said that it was a dream come true to make this movie.  I took the buses home, and I browsed through the record store.  I found an item that I had been seeking for a long time, a DVD copy of “Looker.”  I also bought “The Eddy Duchin Story” and “Roots” on Blu-ray.  I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN.  He played songs by the Pet Shop Boys and ABC.  I liked “The Look of Love.”  There were three Columbo episodes on two channels, but I was unable to stay awake for any of them.  Some of the people who died on March 7 include Alice B. Toklas (1967), Divine (1988), Stanley Kubrick (1999), Charles Gray (2000), Paul Winfield (2004), Gordon Parks (2006), and Jimmy Boyd (2009).  Today is a birthday for Rachel Weisz (47) and Bryan Cranston (61).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 7, Simon and Garfunkel’s “Bridge Over Troubled Water” reached Number One on the Billboard album chart in 1970.  In 1980, “Coal Miner’s Daughter,” starring Sissy Spacek as Loretta Lynn, was released in 1980.  In 1985, the single “We Are the World” by USA for Africa was released.  In 2004, Paul Winfield died of a heart attack at age 62 in Los Angeles.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

