Logan

I watched the Partridge Family episode “None But the Lonely.”  Laurie ate a carrot, I think.  Keith was foolish for letting her use his typewriter.  I watched the chef segment of CBS This Morning.  Some of Heather Terhune’s signature dishes are Pork Neck Ragu with Pappardelle & Ricotta Salata, Spicy Broccolini, Wisconsin Artisan Cheese Board, Blackberry Compote, Herb Crackers, Olive Oil Cake, Creamy Corn Flan, and Under the Spanish Sun.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on March 8, 1975 were “Can’t Get It Out of My Head,” “Pick Up the Pieces,” “Lovin’ You,” “The Best of My Love,” “Lady,” “Lonely People,” “Lady Marmalade,” “My Eyes Adored You,” “Black Water,” and “Have You Never Been Mellow.”  I had to put in five hours of work for the day.  At least it went quietly.  I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre.  I had enough time for a late lunch, and so I bought the JJ Burger combo.  I liked the burger, but I wasn’t too enthusiastic about the fries.  I bought my ticket for the movie and went upstairs to see “Logan.”  The woman who took the seat in front of me annoyingly had her baby with her.  Before the main feature, we saw a Deadpool trailer.  “Logan” started with a black screen.  There was a lot of Wolverine action with the blades and the gruesome images.  It’s supposed to take place in 2029, which looks almost like 2017 except for the driverless containers.  The cast members I recognized were Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, and Richard Grant.  Most of the mutants have died, so Wolverine is one of the last of his kind, sort of like a character in a Western.  Supposedly, the influences that shaped this movie were “The Gauntlet,” “Paper Moon,” “Little Miss Sunshine,” “The Wrestler,” “The Cowboys,” and “Shane.”  When I thought about it, I could understand “Paper Moon,” with the feisty little girl riding in a car with her father.  As far as “The Cowboys” went, you’ve got the group of kids fighting the bad guy.  It took me a while before I placed Grant as the actor who was once in “Withnail and I.”  I liked the sequence where Logan drives into the fence then drives backwards.  I found it hard to see how Charles would want to stay at that family’s house overnight, knowing that he was putting them in danger.  The little girl who played Laura reminded me of the feral kid in “The Road Warrior.”  I did not figure out what the music was that she liked so much.  It was painful to see Logan coughing and getting weak as if he had tuberculosis, like Val Kilmer in “Tombstone.”  I liked the movie, but I thought the fates of Charles and Logan could have been different.  I didn’t want to see what I saw.  I’d rather not see Wolverine rebooted.  I don’t want to see any other actor in the role.  “Logan” had no cameo appearance from Stan Lee, and there was no extra teaser scene after the end credits.  The movie was a lot to sit through, and it gave me my fill of mutants for a long time.  I went home and saw the end of the Warriors game in San Antonio.  It looked like a terrible game without the major stars playing for the Warriors.  Perhaps we’ll see changes in the scheduling of games in the future.  I watched a Columbo episode that had Dick Van Dyke and Larry Storch in it.  The Star Trek episode on Me TV showed Kirk and Spock visiting a floating city.  I feel asleep and awoke to watch an American Masters program about Carole King, followed by another one about Janis Joplin.  I stared at my phone and saw the clock tick from 1:59 to 3:00 because of Daylight Saving Time.  I found it difficult to get any sleep.  I really hate the first week of Daylight Saving Time.  Some of the people who died on March 13 include Benjamin Harrison (1901), Susan B. Anthony (1908), Clarence Darrow (1938), Garson Kanin (1999), and Maureen Stapleton (2006).  Today is a birthday for Dana Delany (61) and Charo (76).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

