Mr. Gaga

I found it so very difficult to wake up and stay awake during the first morning of Daylight Saving Time.  I was slow to get out of bed and out to the grocery store.  I went over to the theatre to see “Mr. Gaga,” a documentary abou choreographer Ohad Naharin.  The early film footage of him from 1969 showed what he could do with his body.  He looked like the most demanding person in the world during rehearsals.  He danced for Martha Graham for only ten months.  If I were a dancer, I would question his genius.  I wouldn’t know if he was in his right mind.  The person I wanted to hear more from was Natalie Portman, of course.  I liked her in “Garden State” and “V for Vendetta,” and I would have liked some comments about “Black Swan.”  As far as your movies about choreographers go, we’ve already seen “All That Jazz,” and it was so memorable with Roy Scheider that I could never imagine wanting to see another movie about dance.  I was glad that I saw this movie as a change of pace from the big budget films like “Kong: Skull Island” and “Logan.”  It showed human beings trying to accomplish something.  There was a bit at the end that showed Ohad sending his daughter away from rehearsal.  Hey, children can’t be the center of everything.  I can understand that.  He had one of his dancers practice falling down over and over.  I wondered what Ohad Naharin would be like if I spoke with him face to face.  Would I be able to stand him?  He talked about falling in love with people he worked with, which I thought might mean that his world was too small.  I listened to the last three innings of the A’s game with the Cubs on the radio.  The A’s got four late runs and won, 9-8.  I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN.  He played songs by David Bowie and Moby.  One of the Columbo episodes had Ruth Gordon as a mystery writer.  Another episode had Janet Margolin.  One of the movie channels had “WUSA” with Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward, and Anthony Perkins.  Some of the people who died on March 14 include Susan Hayward (1975), Busby Berkeley (1976), Doc Pomus (1986), Fred Zinnemann (1997), and Peter Graves (2010).  Today is a birthday for Billy Crystal (69), Michael Caine (84), and Quincy Jones (84).   According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 14, an episode of “Miami Vice” featuring Frank Zappa aired on NBC in 1986.  In 1995, Tupac Shakur’s album “Me Against the World” was released.  In 1997, the special edition of “Return of the Jedi” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

