Roma

I graded some exams and gave my short lecture, which gave me time to head to the record store.  I bought the Criterion Collection Blu-ray edition of “The Red Shoes,” and I bought a Beatles CD.  I found that most of the stuff that I had ordered over the Internet had arrived, my turntable, the Police Story DVDs, and the Partridge Family comic book.  I watched Fellini’s “Roma” on Blu-ray.  This was one case where a restoration and high definition made a difference.  The improved quality made it a more enjoyable movie, compared with my memory of it from decades past.  There were some similarities with “Amarcord.”  There were quite a few prostitutes in this film.  One of the memorable scenes was the discovery of the underground frescoes.  I liked the color photography.  I really liked the ecclesiastical fashion show.  The appearance of Gore Vidal reminded me of the technical shortcomings of many a foreign film when it comes to sound.  I really hate the obvious dubbing.  The special features of the disc include deleted scenes, the most interesting of which was the appearance of Marcello Mastroianni.  He said that he had nothing to say about what Rome meant to him.  Roger Ebert gave the movie a four star review in 1972.  The Criterion Collection edition is good enough to make you want to take another look at it.  Some of the people who died on March 25 include Claude Debussy (1918), Max Ophuls (1957), Nancy Walker (1992), and Buck Owens (2006).  Today is a birthday for Danica Patrick (35), Elton John (70), Paul Michael Glaser (74), Aretha Franklin (75), and Gloria Steinem (83).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March, Elvis Presley performed a benefit concert at Bloch Arena in 1961 to raise money of a USS Arizona memorial, raising $54,000.  In 1967, The Who made their U.S. concert debut at the RKO 58th Street Theater in New York City.  In 2005, Jennifer Aniston filed for divorce from Brad Pitt.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

