Song to Song

Work made me unhappy.  I returned home in the rain and ate a salad and then headed out to the theatre to see “Song to Song,” the new Terrence Malick film.  It seemed highly similar to “Knight of Cups.”  Natalie Portman and Cate Blanchett were in it, but Christian Bale was not and Benicio Del Toro was not.  Ryan Gosling, Michael Fassbender, Val Kilmer, and Holly Hunter also appeared, as well as people from music, such as Patti Smith, Iggy Pop, and John Lydon.  This isn’t the type of movie that is dramatic or is emotionally involving with rich characters and witty dialogue.  Malick does throw a lot of images at us, and many of them are fascinating and beautiful.  He does show us a lot of curtains and close-ups of faces and some underwater moments that we’ve felt that we’ve seen before.  Malick seems to do all his shooting at places that are deserted.  I didn’t know that so many places could be so empty in Austin.  I liked this film a bit more than “Knight of Cups,” although I noticed that the woman sitting in front of me in the theatre walked out halfway through.  It did feel like it ran about two hours too long.  Malick said that his initial cut was eight hours long, which is frightening.  I might actually like to see it, though.  I thought that “The Tree of Life” was a good film, but it feels again that Malick is coasting on the reputation he made for himself with “Badlands” and “Days of Heaven.”  I thought that Patti Smith was the most memorable person in the film, just by mentioning her marriage which lasted from 1980 to 1994.  Val Kilmer didn’t look like the Val Kilmer in “The Doors.”  I’m going to predict that “Song to Song” is not going to be a blockbuster hit.  The audience reaction appeared to be unenthusiastic.  Maybe I’m really stupid, but I’m looking forward to the next Terrence Malick film.  I’m not expecting a masterpiece, but I think it might be worth watching.  I hope that Malick hasn’t alienated everyone at this point, so that I can at least have the chance to see these films.  He is already 73 years old, so I have to wonder how much longer his directing career is going to last even without the debates over the quality of his work.  I went home, where the LEGO Batman figures I’d ordered were in my mailbox.  I watched the Big Bang Theory episode about the time machine, and then the Partridge Family episode “The Strike Out King.”  I saw Laurie peeling an orange but not eating it.  I watched “Airport ‘79” and thought it was really terrible.  It was sad that Cicely Tyson and Martha Raye were in it.  Some of the people who died on March 26 include Ludwig von Beethoven (1827), Raymond Chandler (1959), John Kennedy Toole (1969), B. Traven (1969), Noel Coward (1973), Eazy-E (1995), and Robert Fagles (2008).  Today is a birthday for Jennifer Grey (57), Martin Short (67), Steven Tyler (69), Diana Ross (73), and James Caan (77).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 26, “Funny Girl” with Barbra Streisand opened on Broadway in 1964.  In 1969, “A Matter of Humanities,” the Marcus Welby pilot, aired on ABC.  In 1989, the first episode of “Quantum Leap” aired on NBC.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

