Slumdog Millionaire

The news came out that the Raiders’ proposed move to Las Vegas had been approved by the NFL owners.  This was quite a change from 1982, when the commissioner and the other owners did not want teams to move.  I will find other things to do on Sundays besides watch football.  With the Warriors also set to move out of town, I am contemplating whether or not I should move myself.  I had to go to a training session, and I was called upon once and gave the right answer.  I put in an hour and twenty minutes of work afterwards and went home for a late lunch and to take a nap.  I sat around watching “Slumdog Millionaire.”  On the day after I saw “T2 Trainspotting,” I could see that Danny Boyle had stronger material to work with in making the earlier film.  I do think that the questions on the game show were improbable to the point of being very difficult to accept.  I thought that the final question about The Three Musketeers was not so hard for a question with that much money on the line.  It seemed that there was no penalty here for not paying attention in school.  If this story had been set in the United States, I imagine the brothers would have parted ways. Salim makes things miserable for Jamal with the autograph and the things he did to Latika.  Salim was just too cruel.  It’s fascinating to look back on Dev Patel a decade before “Lion.”  In “Slumdog Millionaire,” it feels like he is incomplete.  He has the observations of energetic youth, but he’s also single-minded.  I thought that Freida Pinto had a remarkable beauty on the screen, although she could have helped him out at the end.  One thing that caught my ear was how the game show host kept pronouncing “millun-aire.”  I thought the photography was impressive, and the look of it in high definition was excellent and better than how I remembered it from years ago on DVD.  I don’t know why the kids would play cricket on an airport runway.  I know that I wouldn’t risk my safety.  I thought the boys’ reaction to the death of their mother was somewhat unusual, but I guess they were conditioned to running away from danger, which the cricket sequence established.  They could see death instantly.  The movie doesn’t have a dull moment in two hours, and I like watching it, although I can’t take it seriously when one of the main messages is “It is written.”  I just cannot believe in that kind of a world.  I watched the Supergirl episode “Distant Sun,” and I felt a bit tired of watching the relationships.  Mon-El was irritating, and Maggie’s actions made no sense to me.  I wasn’t looking forward to the possible return of Teri Hatcher in the future.  Some of the people who died on March 29 include Joyce Cary (1957), Paul Henreid (1992), Bill Travers (1994), Alistair Cooke (2004), Maurice Jarre (2009), Luke Askew (2012), and Patty Duke (2016).  Today is a birthday for Lucy Lawless (49), Elle Macpherson (53), and Brandon Gleeson (62).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 29, “Some Like It Hot,” starring Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis, and Marilyn Monroe, was released in 1959.  In 1982, “Chariots of Fire” won the Best Picture Oscar, Henry Fonda won the Best Actor Oscar, and Katharine Hepburn won the Best Actress Oscar, both for “On Golden Pond.”  In 1993, “Unforgiven” won the Best Picture Oscar, and Al Pacino won the Best Actor Oscar for “Scent of a Woman.”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

