The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years

I gave a decent lecture, although I felt tired and had thoughts about moving to another city.  I still had the Blu-ray edition of “The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years.”  I had opened the package but not viewed the disc since I bought it the week that it was released.  I liked the part with the neighborhood kids swarming around their car.  It seemed that at that moment the fame wasn’t totally out of control.  I also liked the shot of Sigourney Weaver at a Beatles concert, apparently calling out John’s name.  I saw Paul smiling on the rooftop in January 1969, so at least there was some enjoyment at that point.  I thought it was strange how he kept saying that things would be all right during that Jesus controversy.  It sure seemed that he wasn’t speaking seriously, that he knew something that he wasn’t saying.  I’ve already seen this movie enough times that it is familiar to me.  I thought it was rather funny that the audience in Japan was quiet compared to what they were like everywhere else in the world.  I suppose now, though, that an audience in Tokyo is just like any other.  The rather sad thing about seeing this movie at home instead of the theatre is that the disc does not have the Shea Stadium concert performance, which was a bonus in the theatre.  I was left wondering whether there would be a sequel.  Maybe it wouldn’t be so interesting.  In this movie, you got a tour of the world and fans going crazy.  I appreciated some of Elvis Costello’s comments, like his reaction to the “Rubber Soul” album.  I didn’t get around to watching all of the special features, but there was some footage of live performances.  I think this is a movie that I will end up seeing more times than “Help!” over the long run.  Some of the people who died on March 31 include Isaac Newton (1727), Jesse Owens (1980), Brandon Lee (1993), Selena (1995), Bella Abzug (1998), and Jules Dassin (2008).  Today is a birthday for Ewan McGregor (46), Angus Young (62), Al Gore (69), Rhea Perlman (69), Christopher Walken (74), Shirley Jones (83), and William Daniels (90).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

