Bob Marley and the Wailers Live at the Rainbow

I went to work, and someone just had to talk to me about the Raiders’ move to Las Vegas.  He said that I could book flights to Las Vegas for $200 if I do it far enough in advance.  I don’t know about ticket prices, though, or if I even have the desire to do any of this.  I worked on until closing time, and then I stopped for a burger on my way home.  I watched the DVD of “Bob Marley and the Wailers Live at the Rainbow.”  It was from 1977.  Here in the United States, songs like “Sir Duke” and “Dreams” were at the top of the charts at the time.  Watching Marley, I wondered if he taught himself how to play the guitar.  I thought the highlights of the video were “Trenchtown Rock,” “Lively Up Yourself,” “No Woman, No Cry,” and “Get Up, Stand Up.”  I kept thinking about how great the backup singers were.  They were Rita Marley, Marcia Griffiths, and Judy Mowatt.  I sat around trying to think of who else might have been out on tour in 1977, like Queen, Fleetwood Mac, and a Stewart.  It’s hard for me to think that any of them could have been better on stage than Bob Marley was that year.  I don’t think I have anything meaningful to add to the discussion of Bob Marley’s music.  It’s been out there for many years.  I read a little bit about Cindy Breakspeare but didn’t get a sense of what kind of person she is.  I also read about Marley’s illness.  The cancer was in his toe, and he refused to have it amputated.  The Issels treatment seemed to be totally useless.  What would the removal of teeth with metal fillings do?  I thought it was rather sad that Marley’s last concert was in Pittsburgh, and he died in Miami.  The dates were September 23, 1980 and May 11, 1981, respectively.  Marley performed in Oakland on November 30, 1979.  I looked through Chuck Berry’s concert dates, and the last time he performed near me was on February 5, 1984.  I was not able to find the set list for that date.  Some of the people who died on April 1 include Scott Joplin (1917), Marvin Gaye (1984), Martha Graham (1991), Carrie Snodgress (2004), and John Forsythe (2010).  Today is a birthday for Susan Boyle (56) and Annette O’Toole (65).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

