Ghost in the Shell

After doing my laundry and browsing through the record store, I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre.  I had the time to stop at JJ Burger and have a chicken sandwich.  Everyone was watching a game show on television.  One of the questions was about a person who was not born in the nineteenth century.  I knew that the answer was Beethoven because he was alive at the same time as Mozart, who died in 1791.  I went over to the theatre.  The trailers were for the new Blade Runner movie, “Valerian,” and the Guardians of the Galaxy sequel.  The main feature was “Ghost in the Shell.”  Scarlett Johansson has played characters like Major in the Avengers movies, “Under the Skin,” “Her,” and “Lucy.”  It felt like this movie had parts of “The Matrix” and “Blade Runner.”  The discussion about Scarlett Johansson as the main character centered on the casting of a white person as an Asian character.  I suppose she got the role purely because of her box office appeal.  I thought she was uninteresting in a part she seemed to have done before.  Whatever happened to the idea of a movie turning someone into a star?  Juliette Binoche was supposed to be a genius, but I could not think of her as anyone who had notable intelligence, not after the Oscar speech she made in front of Lauren Bacall.  I’ve been hearing that this movie is going to be viewed as a disappointment by many fans of anime.  I couldn’t help comparing this film with “Ex Machina,” which was really fascinating and dramatic.  The audience didn’t seem involved at all in watching this movie.  It certainly didn’t inspire any cheering or applause.  The filming was done in New Zealand.  The director was Rupert Sanders, known for “Snow White and the Huntsman.”  I went over to Big 5 to buy a baseball glove and three scorebooks for the new season.  When I returned home, I watched the Partridge Family episode “Reuben Kincaid Lives.”  Margaret Hamilton was Reuben’s mother.  Ricky’s song was especially annoying because it came after the episode should have ended.  I also watched the pilot of “Police Story.”  It had Vic Morrow, Ed Asner, Chuck Connors, Harry Guardino, and Barbara Rhoades in it.  I watched the end of “Fathom” with Raquel Welch before I got too tired to stay up any longer.  Some of the people who died on April 3 include Jesse James (1882), Johannes Brahms (1897), Kurt Weill (1950), Warren Oates (1982), Mary Ure (1990), and Graham Greene (1991).  Today is a birthday for Eddie Murphy (56), Alec Baldwin (59), Jane Goodall (83), and Doris Day (95).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

