In Search of Israeli Cuisine

I looked for the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend, and saw that the Top 10 songs on April 2, 1977 were “Maybe I’m Amazed,” “I’ve Got Love On My Mind,” “Hotel California,” “The Things We Do for Love,” “Southern Nights,” “Love Theme from ‘A Star is Born’ (Evergreen),” “Don’t Leave Me This Way,” “Don’t Give Up On Us,” “Dancing Queen,” and “Rich Girl.”  After I returned from the baseball game, I spent a few minutes in the library and checked my phone before I decided to go into the theatre to see “In Search of Israeli Cuisine.”  It was like something I might see on a PBS television channel on a Saturday afternoon, and it was interesting and enjoyable.  Some of these chefs say they went off to college and didn’t do too well before they turned to cooking as a career.  There are clear limitations to a film about food, as there was with a movie like “Sideways.”  You can only talk about what something tastes like.  I wondered if Michael Solomonov disliked anything he ate during filming.  I wasn’t sure that everything looked appetizing.  The idea that was repeated many times was the importance of using local food and local ingredients to cook these dishes.  The chefs also kept referring to the way they grandmothers cooked.  The film had a few moments that were reminiscent of “Babette’s Feast.”  The feeling I had towards the end was that people focused too much attention on food.  It got a good response from the audience, though, as people applauded at the end.  I liked the movie, too, and I would recommend it.  If anyone wants an alternative to “Beauty and the Beast” and “Boss Baby,” this is one of them.  I stopped by to get some frozen yogurt, and then I went home to watch episodes of All in the Family, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, and M*A*S*H.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

