Wilson

I watched CBS Sunday Morning and got a phone call from my parents.  They talked a bit about North Carolina and basketball.  I watched the episode of The Quest called “The Captive.”  It looked like Susan Dey’s makeup was smeared in one scene.  I went out to buy some groceries and then walked over to the theatre to see “Wilson.”  It had Woody Harrelson in the main role as a middle-aged man who can’t deal with people.  He has only one friend, who decides to move to St. Louis, and his father dies.  It seemed to me that there were similarities with “Ghost World.”  I thought that Harrelson was amusing, although I think some other people in the audience got annoyed with him.  Laura Dern is the ex-wife.  I didn’t think she fit the part of the wild woman, although my image of Laura Dern goes back to “Blue Velvet” and “Jurassic Park.”  They have a daughter who was adopted and who lives in the suburbs.  Wilson has a dog and doesn’t want to deal with technology.  He pesters people who want to be left alone.  Wilson reminded me a bit of Harvey Pekar in “American Splendor.”  Wilson did not like the song “Call Me Maybe.”  I did not recognize many of the actors, although one I did know was Cheryl Hines.  Prison in this movie seemed like prison in Charlie Chaplin’s movies, like “City Lights” or “Modern Times.”  This movie was filmed in Minnesota.  I didn’t think it was either New York or California as I was watching.  I thought that “Wilson” was not a great movie, but it had some interesting qualities.  It was not as good as “Ghost World.”  Woody Harrelson made me think of Will Farrell in “Everything Must Go,” and even a bit of Jack Black in “Bernie.”  I think that this movie may gain a following as the years pass.  Alexander Payne was supposed to direct this film, and I do see a bit of “Sideways” in it.  The movie has received mixed reviews, but I think that it is worth a look.  I went home and listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN.  He played songs by Al Green and Aretha Franklin.  The early Columbo episode was “Forgotten Lady” with Janet Leigh.  It was one of my favorite episodes.  The other episode had Dabney Coleman, and it was called “Columbo and the Murder of a Rock Star.”  The clues that were left behind included champagne bottle corks and evidence of a hidden camera.  Some of the people who died on April 5 include Douglas MacArthur (1964), Howard Hughes (1976), Kurt Cobain (1994), Allen Ginsburg (1997), Saul Bellow (2005), Debralee Scott (2005), and Charlton Heston (2008).  Today is a birthday for Agnetha Faltskog (67).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

