Mutiny on the Bounty

I watched “Mutiny on the Bounty,” the 1962 version starring Marlon Brando.  Reportedly, Brando’s behavior during the filming of this epic was terrible, driving up costs and making things difficult with the other stars, like Richard Harris.  Brando’s performance as Fletcher Christian was not even close to his best, and his British could be described as bad.  He did have interesting scenes in which he pondered what was going on, presumably as his disgust with Captain Bligh was growing.  I thought that Trevor Howard was pretty good in this movie.  I remember “The Bounty” with Mel Gibson and Anthony Hopkins.  Mel Gibson was a loud Christian, and Brando’s demeanor was more in line with what I imagined Christian to be.  This production from 1962 did look beautiful in some of the shots.  It’s amazing that anything good came out of such a chaotic production.  It had a running time longer than three hours, and it had an overture and an intermission.  It was a financial disaster and a career disaster for Brando, but it was a respectable movie, except for what Brando did to derail it.  In a lot of ways, I prefer it to “The Bounty,” and I don’t even remember the earlier version.  Watching Richard Harris brought back “Camelot” to my mind.  The DVD had a prologue and an epilogue that weren’t part of the theatrical release.  I could understand that, because the running time was long enough, and the prologue was something of a spoiler.  I could see how this movie could have been so bad for Marlon Brando’s career.  It felt like he sabotaged the movie.  His last scene feels like it goes on forever.  One thing that was funny was the women when a lot of leis about their necks, since we weren’t supposed to see bare breasts on the screen in 1962.  When I start to think about it, “Lawrence of Arabia” seemed like a superior movie, which won the Best Picture Oscar over “Mutiny on the Bounty.”  One funny thing about the story was that the breadfruit experiment would turn out to be a failure.  I wondered why no one was eating the stuff.  I wondered what people who went out to the theatres in 1962 though of this movie.  I bet most of them hated Marlon Brando’s terrible accent.  I read that he gained a lot of weight during filming.  I wondered if the men in Tahiti were fools in sharing their women with the British sailors.  One of the amusing scenes had the sailors helping out with fishing.  I wondered how they set up that scene.  I thought the Bounty did look impressive, except at the end.  I thought as a three-hour experience, this movie wasn’t worth that amount of time.  You can do so much with that amount of time besides showing slow burning anger.  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 8, the Supremes recorded “Where Did Our Love Go” in 1964.  In 1975, the Aerosmith album “Toys in the Attic,” featuring the songs “Sweet Emotion” and “Walk This Way,” was released.  In 1979, the last episode of “All in the Family” aired on CBS.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

