My Entire High School Sinking Into the Sea

I saw that “My Entire High School Sinking Into the Sea” was going to be leaving my local theatre, so I went to see it at 1:10 on a Thursday afternoon.  It turned out that I was the only one in the theatre.  It looked like the ticket sales for the week for this movie was in five figures.  With all the computerized animation out there, the look of this movie is crude.  All the characters constantly shake in a way that is reminiscent of Dan Aykroyd and Steve Martin as the Wild and Crazy Guys from Saturday Night Live.  Three of the characters have the voices of Jason Schwartzman, Maya Rudolph, and Susan Sarandon.  Schwartzman is Dash, who is naturally having difficulty with his best friend when the crisis hits.  He discovers that the school building is not up to code when the earthquake hits.  This is all happening in California, of course, although I didn’t recognize the exact setting.  When I saw “Love is a Many-Splendored Thing” recently, California stood in for Hong Kong in a key scene.  The entire tale reminded me of “The Poseidon Adventure,” and I thought of Susan Sarandon as the Lunch Lady as the Gene Hackman of the story.  I thought there were some funny lines, although they weren’t hilarious to me, and I also feel that I can’t laugh forever at what happened in high school.  Besides, since I was the only one in the theatre, I couldn’t say the laughter was infectious.  There were some weird effects with color that made me think of “2001: A Space Odyssey.”  The movie had the feel of a moving graphic novel.  It was unusual that there was so much death in the film.  The whole disaster incident made me think back to the Ramones in “Rock and Roll High School,” although I didn’t recall the entire school exploding in that one.  The music on the soundtrack struck me as being just loud.  It was rather annoying that at the end Dash turns the story into a book.  He could have shown some more creativity than that.  Is Dash Shaw going to give us better films in the future?  I don’t see the evidence here.  I thought about how good the Scott Pilgrim movie was.  I’m glad that I was one of the few people who caught this movie during its brief run, although I’m not going to announced to the world that I’ve discovered something great.  After I gave my brief lecture, I went over to the record store.  After some browsing through the reduced size of the place, I decided to buy the Blu-ray disc of “Guess Who Coming to Dinner,” plus vinyl albums of Joe Cocker’s “Stingray” and Sly Stone’s “High on You.”  The cashier told me that the Cocker album was good.  In my mail, I saw that my Partridge Family lunchbox had arrived.  It was somewhat scratched, but in decent shape overall, considered that it was made in 1971.  The thermos was in good condition, although I’m not tempted to actually use it.  I watched Stephen Colbert but had the thought that I really didn’t want to listen to him and everybody else talk about Donald Trump for the next four years.  I shuddered to think about Trump winning re-election in 2020.  During Ronald Reagan’s second term, there were questions about his mental awareness, and Trump will be at a similar age if he should serve a second term.  I watched Robert Vaughn on Match Game.  He certainly wrote down some odd answers.  Some of the people who died on April 28 include Rory Calhoun (1999), Ken Hughes (2001), and Tommy Newsom (2007).  Today is a birthday for Jay Leno (67) and Ann-Margret (76).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 28, “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” won the Tony Award for Best Play, and “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum” won the Tony Award for Best Musical in 1963.  In 1975, John Lennon’s final televised interview, an appearance on Tom Synder’s Tomorrow show, was aired on NBC.  Also in 1975, Ringo Starr’s performance of “The No No Song” on The Smothers Brothers Show was broadcast on CBS.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

