Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

I went over to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2.”  The initial Kurt Russell scene is supposed to take place in 1980, which is even before “Escape From New York.”  They did a decent job of capturing the younger Kurt Russell, although it was a little scary that they could do this.  I wasn’t really all that interested in Peter Quill’s father.  I’ll have to say that Kurt Russell has been on a winning streak due to Quentin Tarantino.  How long ago was that hockey movie?  I did not think that this sequel matched the entertaining quality of the original movie, but there was one little joke that made me laugh out loud.  It was Peter saying what weird things he would make with his new-found powers.  I can’t say that I found the part of the plot with Gamora and her sister very interesting.  I was getting kind of tired of Rocket.  Some of the audience really liked Baby Groot.  I thought it was funny that Peter seemed to value his mother and his Walkman above everything else in the universe.  I wanted to hear “Fox on the Run” and something from Queen.  I never considered “Brandy” to be one of the great songs of the Seventies.  I didn’t like the look of the film, with its CGI so dominant.  The more we learn about Peter Quill’s father, the more ridiculous the whole plot seems.  Everything is a set-up for another sequel.  A couple of the characters aren’t coming back.  It’s true that this sequel is bigger and louder and longer than the original movie.  There are warning signs that the next sequel will be stale.  How much bigger and louder and longer can you make this concept?  Things certainly are not going to be the same after the squished Walkman.  I never thought of David Hasselhoff as someone who was having kick-ass adventures.  There were five short scenes during the end credits, as if this was the moment to capture our attention to put other ideas in front of us.  Somehow, I was not curious about what Sylvester Stallone would do in the future.  Stan Lee was certainly noticeable in this movie.  Some people applauded at the end, but it wasn’t a wild response.  I think I would hate it if the songs on the soundtrack started moving into the Eighties.  I was glad to hear Cat Stevens’ “Father and Son.”  What is the next Marvel superhero movie release?  I am not eagerly awaiting the new Spider-Man movie.  One of the trailers we saw was for the next Star Wars movie.  I started to wonder if Mark Hamill would talk too much in it.  I felt that I saw too much of that guy from “Paterson” during this past year, because he was also in that Scorsese movie.  Some of the people who died on May 6 include Henry David Thoreau (1862), Wilfrid Hyde-White (1991), Marlene Dietrich (1992), Herb Sargent (2005), George Lindsey (2012), and Farley Mowat (2014).  Today is a birthday for George Clooney (56), Tom Bergeron (62), Bob Seger (72), and Willie Mays (86).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

