2 Days in the Valley

I saw Betty White on the James Corden show, and it seemed that she couldn’t move around.  She still seems to be in better shape than my mother.  I spent the day grading papers and preparing for a lecture.  After class, I went over to the record store and looked through the used Blu-ray discs.  I really wanted to see “Doctor Zhivago.”  I returned home to see “2 Days in the Valley.”  I was a bit of a shock to see how Teri Hatcher has aged since this movie, as I also saw her in the latest Supergirl episode.  She was supposed to be an Olympic athlete in this story.  I thought she was pretty good in this movie, and not so good in the Supergirl episode.  There were some notable Woody Allen actors here, like Danny Aiello, Jeff Daniels, Glenne Headly, and Charlize Theron.  James Spader and Eric Stoltz had a John Hughes connection.  Stoltz The Marsha Mason of the 1970s was in “Cinderella Liberty,” “The Goodbye Girl,” and “Chapter Two.”  I would say that she didn’t have the greatest role in this film.  Paul Mazursky was the great director of “Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice,” “Harry and Tonto,” and “An Unmarried Woman,” and the not-as-great director of “Scenes From a Mall.”  He didn’t do his greatest work in this film, either.  After I saw the joke about using an Emmy as a toilet paper holder, I thought back on whether I saw something like that on The Simpsons.  Charlize Theron just about stole the show as Helga, and she sure looked like from what she was in the latest Fast and Furious movie.  We witness murder, kidnapping, an injection in the ass, an argument about a massage parlor, and a fight between two women.  I think that the movie is not quite as entertainment as it was made out to be, but I did enjoy seeing Marsha Mason and Paul Mazursky again.  I felt nostalgic about the movies he made all those years ago.  Jeff Daniels played one of his unpleasant characters, although I agreed with him about the pack of cigarettes.  The Stoltz character was irritating in the way he acted at the crime scene.  Louise Fletcher was another 1970s actress in the cast.  Too bad they didn’t find a way to get Ellen Burstyn into the picture.  I was more interested in this film as a glimpse back into the 1990s.  It was ten years after Spader and Stoltz were in the John Hughes films, and it was the start of Charlize Theron’s stardom.  It’s rather remarkable that this cast was put together.  I found the setting less than exciting.  The Daniels character talks about, as he wants to get rid of the massage parlor, which is supposed to be the first to invade his neighborhood in the valley.  All I ever knew about the valley was that it was hot there.  Mazursky had a scene in a cemetery that was reminiscent of “Harold and Maude.”  He did have similar suicidal thoughts.  I think I wanted to see more of Helga because she was from outside this hellish place and seemed like she would take us somewhere.  The movie made me feel like taking another look at David Lynch’s “Mulholland Dr.”  I also wanted to see Charlize Theron’s next film, “That Thing You Do!”  The presence of Keith Carradine made me think of Robert Altman, as this movie had something of a Robert Altman feel to it, along with Quentin Tarantino.  Roger Ebert gave the movie a positive review, saying that it was fun to think about.  What did John Herzfeld so after “2 Days in the Valley”?  In his credits, I see TV work and “15 Minutes” and “Reach Me.”  I think I see the symbolism of the Emmy.  Mayim Bialik was on the Stephen Colbert show.  She reminded me that The Big Bang Theory was not as funny as it used to be.  I missed Michelle Pfeiffer on the Jimmy Fallon show.  “Goodbye Charlie” was shown again at 12:30.  Some of the people who died on May 12 include Erich von Stroheim (1957), Robert Reed (1992), H.R. Giger (2004), Syd Hoff (2004), and Robert Rauschenberg (2008).  Today is a birthday for Emilio Estevez (55).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 12, the Rolling Stones album “Exile on Main Street” was released in 1972.  Also in 1972, Paul McCartney released his single “Mary Had a Little Lamb.”  In 1973, Led Zeppelin reached Number One on the album chart with “Houses of the Holy.”  In 1984, Lionel Richie had the Number One single, “Hello.”  In 1989, “See No Evil, Hear No Evil,” starring Richard Pryor and Gene Wilder, was released.  In 1992, Robert Reed died at Huntington Memorial Hospital in Pasadena at age 59.  In 2001, Perry Como died in his sleep at his home in Florida.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

