Kimi no na wa

I wasn’t too eager to go to work.  It was a quiet day, though, so the shift wasn’t too bad.  I was hungry afterwards, and I returned home to eat a salad.  I browsed through the record store and bought two Herb Alpert albums, and then I went over to the theatre that was showing “Your Name.”  It was a Japanese animated film that showed two young people with an unusual connection with each other.  It was the mind and body and gender switch that I saw recently in “Goodbye Charlie.”  The characters were Mitsuha and Taki.  The Tokyo in this film seemed more like the actual city than what we saw in “Lost in Translation.”  A movie that shows cell phone use cannot win me over completely.  I also feel that I cannot watch movies about adolescents for the rest of my life.  A comet is coming close to the Earth, and as soon as you see the report on the news, you know that it’s going to play a big part in the story.  The comet does give the movie some striking images, but it didn’t seem like the greatest idea for the plot.  The movie stretched out for too long, as I wanted the whole thing to come to an end.  There were a lot of shots of doors closing.  The music on the soundtrack was catchy, although I thought that the songwriters could have worked on those verses.  This film certainly feels like the new age of Japanese animation in the way scenes are presented and the music on the soundtrack, although one thing that stayed the same is the big eyes of the characters.  This movie has received a fantastic amount of praise, although I didn’t love the concept of the story, with touches of “Freaky Friday” and a bit of science fiction disaster.  I thought there was too much there, and the movie took a long time to make a point that wasn’t clear.  The director was Makoto Shinkai, born in 1973.  I was glad that this was the subtitled version and not dubbed in English.  I don’t think it would have been right with English dialogue.  Some of the people who died on May 13 include Gary Cooper (1961), Bob Wills (1975), Paul Bartel (2000), Jason Miller (2001), Donald “Duck” Dunn (2012), and Joyce Brothers (2013).  Today is a birthday for Stephen Colbert (53).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

