There’s No Business Like Show Business

I awoke and watched CBS Sunday Morning.  One of the segments was about Goldie Hawn.  My parents phoned me.  I went grocery shopping and listened to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio.  I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2” again.  I’m not sure that I want to listen to “Brandy” again.  I think that I should get to choose the songs for the soundtrack for Vol. 3.  It took me nearly one hour to get back home.  I watched “There’s No Business Like Show Business,” which I thought was an unexceptional movie.  Marilyn Monroe’s character was inserted into the movie to give it some box office appeal.  Vicky Parker definitely was not one of her memorable or likable characters.  The chemistry between her and Donald O’Connor was nothing special.  O’Connor proved his talent in “Singin’ in the Rain,” but he seemed old to be playing to be playing this immature son.  Seeing Ethel Merman in Match Game 78, it is something of a surprise to see her looking so good in this picture.  I had to love hearing her powerful singing voice, although “Alexander’s Ragtime Band” is not my idea of a great song.  I saw Dan Dailey recently in “The Wayward Bus.”  Johnnie Ray, the singer known for the hit “Cry,” was in the cast.  His character becomes a priest for some reason.  There are all sorts of themes left untouched because this movie was made in 1954.  The ending seemed too artificial even for a musical.  The color photography in Cinemascope made that last big production number fun to watch, although I questioned whether Marilyn knew all the words to the song.  I thought she might fall and hurt herself.  Marilyn didn’t appear in the film until nearly 29 minutes into it.  She does a song and disappears for quite a while.  I can see why this movie didn’t attract too many ticket buyers.  Those who were expecting Marilyn to be in it didn’t get what they wanted.  The people who wanted a wholesome family entertainment probably stayed away.  Donald O’Connor reportedly thought this was his best movie, maybe because of the way it showed his talent.  His dance at the fountain was quite good, although it wasn’t a show stopper compared to things we’ve seen from Gene Kelly.  Mitzi Gaynor is still alive.  The director was Walter Lang.  This was an NBC Saturday night movie, although I could see a lot of its appeal lost in the broadcast in black and white in a small screen format with pan and scan.  Marilyn’s beauty came across best in color.  I thought that throwing her into this story about a vaudeville family was not very inspired, and it actually showed the worst side of Hollywood.  I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN.  He played songs by Woody Guthrie, Leadbelly, Jimmie Rodgers, Bob Wills, and Hank Williams.  I watched the Columbo episode “Strange Bedfellows,” which featured Rod Steiger.  The episode of Kolchak reminded me of how much I liked watching Darren McGavin.  I heard that the Warriors fell behind by 25 points against the Spurs, but still managed to win.  I heard about the death of Powers Boothe.  I became aware of who he was when I saw “The Emerald Forest” years ago.  Some of the people who died on May 15 include Emily Dickinson (1886), Edward Hopper (1967), and June Carter Cash (2003), and Barbara Stuart (2011).  Today is a birthday for Jamie-Lynn Sigler (36), David Krumholtz (39), George Brett (64), Chazz Palminteri (65) and Jasper Johns (87).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 15, “Gigi” had its New York premiere in 1958.  In 1963, Tony Bennett won the Grammy Award for Record of the Year for “I Left My Heart in San Francisco,” while Robert Goulet won the Grammy for Best New Artist in 1963.  In 1971, Three Dog Night was Number One on the singles chart for a fifth week with “Joy to the World.”  In 1976, the Sylvers had the Number One single, “Boogie Fever.”  Also in 1976, the Rolling Stones had the Number One album on the charts “Black and Blue.”  In 1982, Paul McCartney and Stevie were Number One on the singles chart with “Ebony and Ivory.”  Also in 1982, “Asia” was the Number One album.  In 1992, “Lethal Weapon 3,” starring Mel Gibson and Danny Glover, was released.  In 2003, June Carter Cash died of complications from heart valve surgery in Nashville.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

