Gentlemen Prefer Blondes

I watched “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes,” starring Jane Russell and Marilyn Monroe and directed by Howard Hawks.  I thought it was still pretty funny, and the songs were pretty good.  I thought the courtroom scene was hilarious, although it was unreal.  There was another funny moment when the women pull off someone’s pants.  I wasn’t too sure why Lorelei didn’t hold out for a bigger tiara than the one Lady Beekman had.  I found the kid, Henry Spofford III, not really all that funny.  I liked the way that the musical numbers were shot.  They looked different from the usual musicals.  Jane Russell went on to appear in “Gentlemen Marry Brunettes,” which I have never seen.  She did brasserie commercials during the 1970s.  The only movies I remember her for are “The Outlaw,” “The Paleface,” and “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.”  I don’t have to discuss what happened with Marilyn Monroe.  I have not seen many of the films of Rainer Werner Fassbinder, but I saw the list of his ten favorite films: “The Damned,” “The Naked and the Dead,” “Lola Montes,” “Salò, or the 120 Days of Sodom,” “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes,” “Dishonored,” “The Night of the Hunter,” “Johnny Guitar,” and “The Red Snowball.”  I would have to question the judgment of anyone who would select “Salò” for such a list.  I would say that this is one of the Marilyn Monroe movies that I like the most, along with “The Asphalt Jungle,” “The Seven Year Itch,” and “Some Like It Hot.”  I thought I detected Marni Nixon’s voice dubbed for Marilyn’s when she sang “no.”  I kept thinking that Jane and Marilyn shouldn’t have been smoking in this movie.  I think back to Gene Tierney, who should not have smoked.  I looked up the name of the cinematographer, Harry J. Wild.  Two of his previous credits were “Murder, My Sweet” with Dick Powell and Claire Trevor in 1944, and “Son of Paleface” with Bob Hope, Jane Russell, and Roy Rogers in 1952.  I couldn’t see any links between those films and “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes” other than the presence of Jane Russell.  I don’t know how Howard Hawks came to direct this picture.  He did make “His Girl Friday,” “I Was a Male War Bride,” and “Monkey Business.”  “Hatari!” has been shown on one of the movie channels many times in recent weeks.  On the night of December 3, 1977, Hawks tripped over his black Belgian shepherd, Raven, hitting his head on the floor and breaking a bone in his back.  He stayed in the hospital until December 17, fell into unconsciousness on Christmas Day, and died at 6:50 PM the following evening.  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 25, the Simon and Garfunkel album was Number One on the charts in 1968.  In 1969, “Midnight Cowboy,” starring Jon Voight and Dustin Hoffman, was released.  In 1979, “Alien” was released.  In 1983, “Return of the Jedi” was released.  In 1990, Vic Tayback of “Alice” died at age 60.  In 2006, Desmond Dekker died of a heart attack at age 64.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

